We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Smeraldo to your Saves list
Hotel Smeraldo
Piazza Giosue Carducci 169B, Lingotto, Turin, Italy (Nizza Millefonti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but had such a great experience we tried to book two nights at the end of our vacation but they were full. This small family-operated hotel was perfect for us. The staff were so nice and helpful. The rooms are simple but very clean and our bathroom had recently been renovated. The breakfast was decent, very typical of Italy (cereal, yogurt, pastries, sliced meats, bread and assorted fruits). The location is great, there is a Metro station right out front and is only 4 stops until the center of the downtown district. Lingotto (home of the old FIAT factory) district is about 1/2 mile walk and has a fantastic Eataly store (food & wine plus restaurants) and a large shopping mall. The Po river is just a few blocks and the beautiful Valentino park - the pathway can take you downtown if you care for a nice stroll. The wifi was also good and reliable : )

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    44
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
50
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

It only takes you 7 minutes to get into town on the brand-new metro. This hotel is really all you need when visiting Torino with a family. The service is friendly. What I really appreciated was being able to park right outside the hotel (ca. EUR 10 per day). The breakfast (included in the price) was adequate, nothing special.

The hotel is also a 10 minute walk to the Lingotto (old Fiat factory) heading out of town.

This was our first visit to Torino...what a gem of a city ... overlooked by most tourists but perhaps for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was great, more than any other hostel hotel we stayed in. The rooms were very clean and the bed was great. The location was next to a Metro which made it easy to get around.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Hotel was easy to find, located in the Piazza Carducci. We walked to the tourist areas from the hotel both days we stayed here but we like to walk. It was about a 2 mile walk each way.
We had requested a "quiet room" When we arrived, they had a room that was available right away that overlooked the street or a room off the back that would be available later. We were shown both rooms. The room off the front was nice, but the one off the back was bigger, had a bigger bathroom and a bigger balcony with a table and chairs. Needless to say we took the room in the back.
The shower was a hand held shower head that could not be attached to the wall. It was cold showering and we had water everywhere!
Breakfast buffet was limited but they will make any kind of coffee you want.
Staff was very helpful and recommended good restaurants in the area.
TV had some 800 channels but no english language channels. No CNN or BBC. While these are not my favorite channels, they are better than nothing to get some news and weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We enjoyed our weekend stay at this Hotel. It is situated right on a metro station (Carducci) so is convenient for getting around the city. it looks a little unprepossessing from the outside but we needn't have worried. The staff were welcoming and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. We had a room facing the front but noise was not an issue. It's very good value and worth its high rating on trip advisor. Would give a 4.5 rating if that were possible.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

All the staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms are clean,cosy and comfortable. We were first given a room facing the square and a big busy street. Imagining it could be quite nosy at night I asked whether there were any rooms facing the courtyard. The next day we were given such a room , with even a much bigger and more comfortable bathroom, where we spent the remaining 3 nights. Having slept in the first room for 1 night, I should say to be fair it wasn`t very noisy either. The breakfast was very good with a choice of food and drinks. The cappuccino was delicious. We always got very helpful pieces of information from the staff regarding places to eat and visit with very detailed desciptions how to get there.The location is very convenient as it is near an undeground station and also from a very beautiful park Valentino. We also walked from the hotel to the city centre ,which took about 40 min - 1 hour depending on the destination. On the whole, my impressions of the hotel are more then just positive. The staff are very professional, hospitable and hard-working. They made us feel really welcomed. Thanks a lot for that. I highly recommend the hotel Smeraldo to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The location is great. There is a metro station right outside but we walked into the city centre (direct route, doesn't take too long and of course you can view the sights on the way). The staff are really nice, extremely helpful. The continental breakfast is just perfect with filter coffee on tap but a variety of 'proper' Italian coffees on request. There's meat, cheese, cereals, croissants, fruit... Our room had clearly been recently refurbished and was extremely comfortable, with a lovely bathroom, a very hot shower, mini bar (without usual extortionate prices) and we had a balcony with a great view over busy Torinese square. Oh, and lovely proper lighting (lamps etc.) and heating you can adjust. Honestly, I can't rave enough about this place. I have family in Turin and this will be my hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: Piazza Giosue Carducci 169B, Lingotto, Turin, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Nizza Millefonti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering allergy-free rooms with free Wi-Fi and air conditioning, the Smeraldo is 15 minutes' walk from Turin's Lingotto Congress Centre. With links to Porta Nuova Station, Carducci Metro is a few steps away. An extensive buffet breakfast is served at the Smeraldo Hotel, including Italian coffee, croissants and yoghurt, as well as cold cuts, bread, cheese and more. Guest rooms are functional and soundproofed. This non-smoking hotel features a 24-hour front desk, and staff is happy to give information and advice. The nearby area is full of restaurants and pubs. Guests can walk to the Valentino Park in 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Smeraldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.