We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inexpensive clean modern hotel in a rough part of Turin.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alexandra to your Saves list
Hotel Alexandra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungo Dora Napoli 14, 10152 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An inexpensive clean modern hotel in a rough part of Turin.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This modern hotel building is on the outskirts of Turin in a somewhat seedy area, where local n'erdowells and winos assemble on a nearby bridge to shout and hassle each other. However, from the next bridge over the river, it is a quick 5 stops on the number 11 bus to the centre.The rooms are comfortable, modern and clean. Although the WiFi system is very fast, the t.v is a curiosity. I was handed a control panel for the cable/satellite box on check in but could not get the system to work ( a traditional cathode ray tv with box) and had to ask management for assistance.The shower in the showeroom gives and powerful but difficult to control water supply.Strangely, there is a clear glass window, covered by a fixed vertical blind, between the showeroom and the bedroom! The staff are very polite and helpful. The is a small bar from where you may purchase drinks on request at reception. A cold buffet breakfast is provided and offers a limited supply of cereals, bread, cheese,meats and cakes and a wide selection of yoghurts and fruit.The hotel is used extensively by business clientele and as they want an early departure, the breakfast room is very busy around 8am but much quieter at around 9am!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a view but can be noisy depending upon people on the nearby bridge. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlalexandra, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thanks from hotel Alexandra's staff.
Have a good evening.
mc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    74
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
59
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The hotel was nice, breakfast was good, staff were friendly, air con in the room worked well and the room was clean and well presented. the location was not great, it was quite a way out of the centre of Turin meaning a dice with death in one of the local Taxis, the are was very run down and a bit noisy, over all they I have to say it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is not in the best area of the city, it is dodgy and a little dirty. I suppose that as a male this isn't such a big problem, but as a female travelling solo, this area isn't safe, and therefore I will not return to this hotel again. Someone even approached me while I was walking there and told me that I should get to my hotel, because it wasn't safe.

It is about 20 mins walk to the center, and 30/35 mins walk to the station. There is a bus stop approx. 2 mins from the hotel.

The view from my room was not nice, so I kept the blinds closed.The room and the bathroom were both clean. There is a tv, fridge (wasn't working), airconditioning, hairdryer, everything you need basically. WiFi worked fine! Beds were fine.

Staff was helpful and answered all my questions.

Positive: Cheap, rooms were clean
Negative: Location is dodgy and not safe.
Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room, and one facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff: very helpful. For me, they helped me sort out WiFi issues as I needed it for my work. They also offered help with Italian, and even ordered us pizza as we couldn't speak Italian. They were friendly.

Rooms: they were very clean, this was one of the top points. The beds were comfy but the pillows were a little bit hard. The blinds were mechanical and very good and shut out light. They are not attractive but we only had them down when we wanted to sleep, so it was not a problem. The rooms are spacious and have aircon (which is necessary in the summer!).

Resources: WiFi wasn't great as it sometimes cut out and was very slow around 5pm-11pm. There was a fridge which was useful. Not much cupboard space which was annoying when my boyfriend and I had two weeks worth of clothes.

Hotel area: isn't in the middle of the city but there is a tram which goes from right next to the hotel into the town in ~5minutes. It is no problem. It does look like a bit of a dodgy area. But as long as you don't go out by yourself it is fine. The tram/bus to the center is right near the hotel so you don't travel much around the area. There is also a Carrefore express shop nearby so you can buy and keep food in your room. The hotel is on the river so it is an attractive view.

Overall, it is very food for the price and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view onto the river, it's a much more attractive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were a little worried when our taxi delivered us to this hotel - the taxi driver warned my boyfriend not to let me go outside the hotel at night on my own as it wasn't safe! It's dingey from the outside and not a heck of a lot better inside... plus the elevators were so small we had to go up to our room separately because we couldn't both fit (we're not big people, and only had one suitcase each). But, having said all that, this place was cheap and we weren't there to spend time in the hotel anyway. The room was clean and comfortable enough. The first night we didn't get much sleep - it was a saturday night and there is a nightclub a few doors down from the hotel and they partied until 6am. Not conducive to a good night's sleep! Although the neighbourhood looks dodgy, it's not far to walk into town, alternatively, taxi's are quite cheap.We walked everywhere without much trouble. I think the best thing to say about this hotel is you get what you pay for and don't expect too much - it's not a BAD hotel, just basic and not in the greatest location. I don't regret staying there, but I wouldn't necesarily recommend it unless you're travelling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely hotel with modern rooms. 24 hour desk, very nice breakfast, helpful staff. Quiet area thirty minutes or so on foot from train station (right on a tram line, but I always walked). Would definitely encourage people to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel is pleasant enough and the rooms are clean and decent. Not the best area but the location is actually great if you want to visit the balon market which starts a minute walk from the hotel. It was a little walk to the center (15 minutes) but you have loads to see on the way...when you are in Turin, you will be walking alot anywhere so i don't see this as a problem and there is public transport if you want it...if you stay in the center, you will pay a lot more and end up walking up to almost this area to see alot of the places to visit anyway!!. The breakfast buffet was standard stuff and good (note you are only allowed one hot drink!!...and after that you have to pay!!!). The staff are very friendly and helpful but don't really solve any problems such as fridge not working and not so cool A/C....but i think they are working according to hotel policy rather than personal....overall good value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: Lungo Dora Napoli 14, 10152 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel with multilingual staff is located near the River Dora, the Financial District and the Piazza Castello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alexandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.