We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent value for money hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dock Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dock Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Dock Milano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cernaia, 46, 10122 Turin, Italy (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“An excellent value for money hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in this hotel in the middle of August on our first visit to Turin. The Dock Milano was selected primarily due to its location - we flew into Milan Malpensa and took the 2 hourly direct bus to Turin - the bus stop is opposite the hotel, and also the favourable reviews on tripadvisor. It is approx. a 25 minute walk from the hotel to the city centre (or 7/8 minute tram journey) though the style of architecture of the buildings in the centre of Turin means that the vast majority of pavements are under cover providing shelter from the elements (be it sun or rain).

Our room was situated on the first floor overlooking the Via Cernaia but we experienced very little street noise. The room was clean (an essential point), spacious and comfortable with a fridge, safe and TV (no English speaking channels). The toilet / shower room was also clean and functional.
Breakfast was a hot / cold buffet and was perfectly acceptable. All the hotel personnel we encountered were friendly and helpful. We certainly found no problems whatsoever during our stay and would certainly recommend this hotel as good value for money. As a previous reviewer stated there are not many restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but we ate twice at the Cernaia 31 restaurant across the Via Cernaia from the hotel and found it to be excellent value.

On a general point this was our first visit to the city - we have visited all the other major Italian cities (some many times) - and we were very impressed with Turin. The city does not appear to "sell itself" as a tourist destination but it has interesting museums and beautiful piazzas and is not expensive - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    319
    116
    28
    11
See reviews for
117
197
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice as a stop over on a tour of Italy and on the way back through to France.
It is very convenient for Porto Susa Station virtually across the road. The rooms are clean and tidy with a decent shower they are not very big but have everything you need. There is free wifi also available and the breakfast was good and plentiful. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had to leave early on both occasions and they provided breakfast for us an hour earlier which was very much appreciated.
The price was also very good I would definitely stay again if in Torino.
We couldn't find much in the way of choice for restaurants nearby but the Hotels recommendation for the one across the road Cerenai 31 was very good and the Hotel will give you a card for a 10% discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was great value on a recent trip to Turin. It was within walking distance of the main city centre, was right beside the main train station, and had excellent offsite parking facilities that you can get access to upon check-in. The air conditioning meant that the room was comfortable at all times and the beds were grand for a few nights (lets face it, no hotel bed is like your own!!). One benefit was the fact that a 10minute walk got you to the main Piazzas in the centre of city, and almost all of the walk is under a pedestrian walkway so even if it rains, you can traverse the entire city from Hotel door to Rivers edge without a drop on your head... The breakfast in the morning was lovely, simple but tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location of the hotel is good, you can easily walk to the center or take the tram. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean but the beds were too hard for me. I could not find any english channels on TV, would have been nice to see some news.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our travel agent booked this hotel and it was only three star, but our first night it was horrible, when we we arrived the room was very strongly perfumed with air freshener, we complained and they said it was non smoking. The room was on the third floor. It was very hot and the air conditioning wasnt effective, they said it was centrally controlled, it then began to work better. The room was clean but basic and the shower doors a little challenging to close. The night didn t get better as the air conditioning was so noisy we had to turn off. At 4am water starting pouring out. We complained and they quickly offered us another room on the second floor which was more modern and a much better air conditioner, so we are thankful. The buffet breakfast has choice, but the worst coffee i have ever tasted and the food edible, but not nice. This is centrally located and basic, but nothing more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night on our way back to UK. An ideal location, the station is across the road and it is only a short walk into town
The staff were very pleasant and helpfull. Because our train was leaving at 07:50 they arranged a 06:30 breakfast for our group and the standard of the food was excellent

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Picked this hotel because of its price & location. The train station is just across the road & its also walking distance from all the sites of Torino city. As a solo traveller it was perfect. the room was clean & quiet. Breakfast was average but nothing to complain about.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dock Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dock Milano

Address: Via Cernaia, 46, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dock Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dock Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock Milano Hotel
Dock Milano Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dock Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.