We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures are deceiving” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Due Mondi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Due Mondi to your Saves list
Hotel Due Mondi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Saluzzo 3, 10125 Turin, Italy (San Salvario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 127 Hotels in Turin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pictures are deceiving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

After looking at the pictures again after our stay, I see where they were taken, but they don't do this place justice! The picture that appears to be the front of the hotel; actually the corner down the street. The spacious bathroom; actually no bigger than a closet. The absences of working lighting was pretty bad, but at least I didn't have to see all the stains others mentioned! If I really thought about the cleanliness of the sheets or carpet, I would have run as fast as I could. But, I figured its only one night. Bad service, no one was helpful. Seedy neighborhood; my dad was pick pocketed outside on the corner. Didn't bother with the breakfast it was so bad, we ate at a rest stop on the autostrade instead. Although they claim to have, No AC, just a fan blowing around hot air. Couldn't sleep with the windows open because of the noise from the street. Shower had no enclosure, so water splashed all over the toilet.Detailed receipt? No, just indecipherable scribbles on a scrap. Oh, the parking they offer: 10 euros to park on the street or 18 in a garage down the street.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    40
    34
    39
See reviews for
22
39
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at Due Mondi with a friend for one night on the return from a skiing trip. Overall, I was pleased with the room, but was very let down by the lack of service during breakfast. Poor choice, no interest in us as patrons and a general feeling of not being desired to be there made us feel very unwelcome.
If you only stay the night without caring too much about breakfast, then it is a nice hotel - mainly because of the location, which is perfect for the Porta Nuova station!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having stayed here for 1 night with a friend, I can gladly say I was overall quite satisfied with this property. I travel to Turin to watch the local football team Juventus Fc, therefore my stays are normally relatively short. This property is very central, 2 mins walking distance from the Porta Nuova train station, and 15 mins walk away from the main shopping area, Via Roma, and the surrounding Piazza's. I found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful. The twin room was spacious, and had enough storage space for a few nights. The room, & the ensuite, bathroom were clean, towels and soap were provided, electrical plugs were available, and the tv was in good working condition. Wifi is available at a charge of 3 euro for 24hrs, however I managed to connect with another free wifi detected in the area. The only downside to my room was the fact that it was on the main street side, therefore there was a bit of noise, however, it did not really effect my sleep. Unlike what other's commented, I found the breakfast to be quite good. There was a selection of 3 different tea's ( English b'fast, camomile, & lemon tea), an automated coffee machine, which included everything from espresso to hot chocolate, they also had 2 juices. I enjoyed their tea a lot, and the juice was refreshing. With regards to food, there was a selection of 4 different pastries, croissants, 2 different types of ham & chesse, as well as a selection of bread, including french sliced. Being one that is used to having b'fast in the morning, I found this one to be good enough, considering what I paid. I will definitely be staying here again in the near future.

Room Tip: I would opt for a room that is not on the street side, however, the noise isn't too bad, and sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

room is OK (though noisy on the street), but cleaning poor, breakfast poor.
WIFI did not function my entire stay (3 nights). they apologised, but only after insisting for a solution, they suggested me to ask in the next hotel, which of course did not take clients from the competitor. After walking around 15 minutes I found a pub around the corner with free WIFI, they apparently did not know of.
When complaining at the check out, I was very unpolitely told that it was not their fault, but some general deficiency in the street (how can that be?), and they were not responsible. When I replied that when they promise free WIFI I cannot see who else would be responsible the guy crudely answered that this was not his business. He did not want to give me one cent of discount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I do not recommend this hotel as the rooms are small and badly decorated. The beakfast wasn't really a breakfast. The first day only one portion of Greek yoghurt, the second no yoghurt. No scrammbled eggs, sausages or something hot to choose from, no fresh fruit, only one kind of ham and cheese. And the machine that produces juice is so slow that it takes about 3 minutes to fill up one glass. You really get in a bad mood when starting your day here.
Lucky enough is the weather fine outside.

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

the staff were fantastically friendly, my italian is very minimal but we managed to communicate fantastically. The rooms were large clean and well looked after. we travelled for family reasons and had a suit , a triple and a double. all were good with working air condition and we had no problems using wi fi at all . It is a little noisy on the street at night but the hotel is in central turin so to be expected but it did not disturb our sleep- if air con on and windows shut no problem. very easy reach to lovely local resturants , very cheap to eat and mini market and supermarket within 50 steps each way. extremely easy from airport bus which leaves just outside porto nova station and just by all major bus/tram routes. Breakfast self service all the usual coffee croissants, bread, cereal fruit from 7.30- 10.15 and whatever time we went never any problems. will definitely go back next time visiting turin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

No internet access, the receptionists were not very service-minded, the room was okay but a lamp on the nightstand was not working and when I asked assistance with the lamp I was told they would take care of it...never happened though. The bed was fine. The only thing on the TV was Italian talk shows with a young blond woman and an old gentleman speaking nothing but Italian.
The locations was fine but drug dealers and prostitutes were right outside the front door, and the noise from the street was terrible - Sunday morning at 7 am the garbage truck woke me up - like every other morning!
The breakfast was ok - nothing fancy, lacking several things that makes a nice breakfast. E.g. the bread was dry, no yoghurt, the tea-selection was two different kinds of tea and no lids for the teapots/coffeepots...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Due Mondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Due Mondi

Address: Via Saluzzo 3, 10125 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Salvario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Due Mondi 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Due Mondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Mondi Hotel
Due Mondi Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Due Mondi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.