We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in communist times” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Due Mondi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Due Mondi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Due Mondi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Saluzzo 3, 10125 Turin, Italy (San Salvario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 128 hotels in Turin
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Like in communist times”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I do not recommend this hotel as the rooms are small and badly decorated. The beakfast wasn't really a breakfast. The first day only one portion of Greek yoghurt, the second no yoghurt. No scrammbled eggs, sausages or something hot to choose from, no fresh fruit, only one kind of ham and cheese. And the machine that produces juice is so slow that it takes about 3 minutes to fill up one glass. You really get in a bad mood when starting your day here.
Lucky enough is the weather fine outside.

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    32
    30
    38
See reviews for
20
37
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

the staff were fantastically friendly, my italian is very minimal but we managed to communicate fantastically. The rooms were large clean and well looked after. we travelled for family reasons and had a suit , a triple and a double. all were good with working air condition and we had no problems using wi fi at all . It is a little noisy on the street at night but the hotel is in central turin so to be expected but it did not disturb our sleep- if air con on and windows shut no problem. very easy reach to lovely local resturants , very cheap to eat and mini market and supermarket within 50 steps each way. extremely easy from airport bus which leaves just outside porto nova station and just by all major bus/tram routes. Breakfast self service all the usual coffee croissants, bread, cereal fruit from 7.30- 10.15 and whatever time we went never any problems. will definitely go back next time visiting turin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

No internet access, the receptionists were not very service-minded, the room was okay but a lamp on the nightstand was not working and when I asked assistance with the lamp I was told they would take care of it...never happened though. The bed was fine. The only thing on the TV was Italian talk shows with a young blond woman and an old gentleman speaking nothing but Italian.
The locations was fine but drug dealers and prostitutes were right outside the front door, and the noise from the street was terrible - Sunday morning at 7 am the garbage truck woke me up - like every other morning!
The breakfast was ok - nothing fancy, lacking several things that makes a nice breakfast. E.g. the bread was dry, no yoghurt, the tea-selection was two different kinds of tea and no lids for the teapots/coffeepots...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Negatives: The Hotel Due Mondi failed my expectation! I was expecting a better service, at least a standard quality for the 100€ charged but hotel well-below average. Upon arrival in our room, heavy cigarette smoke smell. No option was given to us as a customer to either change rooms, go to another hotel otherwise we would be charged for one night. Finally after heavy complaints, they decided to change the room. Only when we thought it was going to be better, NO. Double room have connected twin mattresses not properly secured and splits during the night, the tap water in the bathroom clogged, breakfast in the morning quite terrible and EVEN the coffee and fruits. For one night in Torino, my friends and I rented two rooms and in either case the hotel have failed in our expectation. They do not even have a proper client log with payment status and double charge my friend when I already paid for both rooms before.

2 positives: location and bathroom cleanlinness ok

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Awful experience! I found bed-bugs in my bed and I have been bite....I have been there the 7th of September.I do not think they have made any pest control. Anyway HIGHLY NO RACCOMENDED!
Daniela Ziglioli

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

OK - the good stuff first. 1. Location is very central and most sites are no more than a very leisurely 15/20 minute stroll. 2. Standard room bed was very comfortable. 3. Breakfast is generous by many standards - but not the best quality, still more than adequate.
So - the bad stuff. 1. Unlike many website advertisements, Internet is NOT free. 2. Standard rooms are smallish & OLD. Bedside lamps literally fell out of the wall when trying to turn them on & nearly electrocuted my wife. 3. Our early June visit corresponded with a somewhat unseasonal heat wave of over 30 degrees each day. The advertised Air Conditioning was pitiful. I know there are special regulations in Italy regarding the use of air conditioning in hotels, so I can reserve some judgement here - nonetheless it did not make for a pleasant night's sleep and none of the staff where all that interested in helping. 4. The staff are mostly ambivalent about the guests. I speak passable Italian and even this did not help - one exception, there is a lovely young lady who was very pleasant and eager to assist - thank god for her!!! 5. The area is not salubrious, but unlike other reviewers, we had no problems and did not feel threatened or in danger in any way. Turin has a large Arabic population and many live/ work around this area. 5. In some reviews (esp. Lonely Planet) they suggest that all the rooms are very spacious and include either a sauna or spa in the bathroom. This is incorrect for standard rooms. The "deluxe" rooms are larger, nicer and have these features (I snuck a look when the maid wasn't looking), but standard rooms are on the wrong side of the old & outdated. 6. Cleanliness wasn't great. We had no problems with sheets & towels and the initial impression was the room was clean if grubby from wear & tear. However under the bed was very dusty, a thick veneer. On top of the wall mounted TV there was a thick layer of dust. Inside the air conditioner - around the compressor, there was so much dust I wondered if this was in fact the real reason the air conditioner. 7. Service - small things like no toilet paper when we arrived. Poor, poor, poor. Breakfast was OK, but again the replenishment of some items was slow. Trying to get some tourist information from front desk staff was not easy.
Summary: There is no one single thing which makes the standard rooms here bad, but there are a collection of many smaller issues which mean its hard to recommend this hotel to anyone. Perhaps 1 or 2 nights in spring or autumn when its not too hot or cold and if you really need to be close to the Porta Nuova railway station. But really, I would look for other options if possible OR if money is less of an issue, go for a Deluxe room as these seemed to eliminate most of the negative issues we experienced.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

The room was smelly and old, needs renovation. I felt myself as in old James Bond film looking at outdated control panel next to the bed. Towels in bathroom looked ans smells(!) dirty and seemed to be used before.
Breakfast with one plate of cheapest ham and cheese, dry as a bone bread.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Due Mondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Due Mondi

Address: Via Saluzzo 3, 10125 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Salvario
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 128 hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Due Mondi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Due Mondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Mondi Hotel
Due Mondi Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Due Mondi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.