We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far below par” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Torino Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Torino Royal to your Saves list
Mercure Torino Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Regina Margherita 249, 10144 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Far below par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel. Not for business nor holiday travel. It is old and smelly. The rooms are small. The water is polluted with calcium. You even need to request to have them clean your room. And there more negative things I can say.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    108
    104
    40
    14
See reviews for
50
91
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cento, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights at the end of September 2014, for a business trip.
My experience was poor: the bathroom was little, dirty and without a bidet (which is always found in italy, especially in a 4 stars).
Breakfast was regular, even if tables were not regullary cleaned.
Two positive notes: kindness of the girls at the reception and the tram stop just in front of the hotel exit.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Pros: staff are friendly and helpful
Nice bed linens

Cons: I just can't agree the hotel meets the standard for 4 stars. The toiletries provided were poor and the lotion was clearly used and maybe 1/4 full. Breakfast was ok, but not notable.
Overall, I'd look for other options.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

It's a good place to stay if you need a bed for a night. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is great and the staff are extremely helpful. But it is situated too far away from the historical centre of Torino. A 20 minute bus ride through a depressed part of town is not for the faint hearted. If I return to Torino, I will book something more centrally located

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our roadtrip in the southern part of Europe, and we mostly booked 4 starred hotels in 4 different countries. This hotel was way below the others, and even the 3 star hotel in Austria was better. The only really positive thing was the staff, whom where very polite and helpful. Also the parking was good.

The bad things is an almost uneatable breakfast, old outdated small rooms (might have been nice when I was born in 1979), no coffee in the room although there was a kettle to boil water and tea, the neighborhood (boring and 25 minutes walk from the center, bad WiFi connection, A/C that didn't work properly and rather bad beds. All in all nothing more than an average 3 star hotel, and far from the 4th, which I would never recommend.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hotel policy as stated by the receptionist is not to allow customers to use the air con. This led to sleepless night. The wi fi was very poor only available intermittently. Food in restaurant was disappointing for a 4 star hotel. My advice is avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've been there for about 20 nights both in summer and winter, in 3 different rooms. Royal is my first option for Turin.

Pros:
Reception is very professional and flexible departure time.
Good value
Breakfast is fine (considering the price, but a bit below 4 stars hotel standard)
Rooms are large and comfortable, clean, with a nice bathroom.
Cleaning staff is ok with flexible time-window.
Everyone is very kind.
Good parking.
I've asked for a baby-bed in the room and I've got a proper one (got some bad surprise somwehere else), for free.

Cons:
Restaurant is often (always ?) closed
Had problems with window (locked) in one of the room.
Both heathing and cooling should be improved, the main issue is that you have only "off-on" and it's hard to manage a proper stable temperature.
Hotel has two lifts but they are a bit small (doors are smaller than current standard), and there are 4 steps before reaching the elevators (unless you are coming from the parking).
Some rooms are better then other.
Not close to city centre.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above seem to be better than 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Torino Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Torino Royal

Address: Corso Regina Margherita 249, 10144 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Torino Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Torino Royal offers 75 rooms equipped with full 4 star comforts. Located in Turin, a few minutes drive from the historic town centre and close to the Tangenziale (ring road) with easy access to Torino Caselle airport and highways for all directions. The hotel has a restaurant with local and international cuisine, two bars, a garage, parking and a modern and well equipped conference centre suitable for all types of events and meetings. Ideal for business and holiday trips alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Torino Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Turin
Mercure Hotel Torino Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Torino Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.