We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torino stay for art fairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Torino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Torino to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Torino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Regina Margherita 249, 10144 Turin, Italy (Formerly Mercure Torino Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Torino stay for art fairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Te hotel is good but the room is a little small, average cleaning, breakfast not at the level of a 4 star hotel, no gym, friendly people at desk and for breakfast,
we did not expect anything special, just a little more space in the rooms and a little gym.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked cheapy on web as passing through. We were in high season so suspect everyone else had left the city for the beach! Ended up in a 2 room apartment behind a 'secret' privado door. Our room and son's room was glam and very comfortable - may be a special apartment for 'special' people! Not sure about other rooms. Had breakfast included and that was interesting! Staff vaguely acknowledged us, OK but a bit ravaged. Asked for more scrambled eggs as run out and looked like they'd been reheated - rubbery, peppery and tepid - gross. Two incredible friendly and helpful woman staff members on recepetion.

Room Tip: ask for the 'secret rooms' behind the 'privado' door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyHAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions. My first night there was in 2012. I got a recently renovated room and had a very pleasant experience overall back then. I did not hesitate to chose this hotel again for 2 (non-consequtive) nights in JUN 2013, also taking into account the best rate which they quoted out of all Accor group hotels in Turin. I do not have any problems with location as my friend is always picking me up when I am in the city. And by no means it is a dangerous place as others stated below - it's just not a (tourist) center of the city and the surroundings are rather a dull-looking residential area.
My second experience with the hotel was not as satisfying as before. Both times I had to ask to change the room. On the 1st night it was because of the stale smell of tobacco. The room I got instead had a broken A/C - I didn't ask for a new room again only because it was not very hot outside and I could live without an A/C that night. On the 2nd night I had to change the room because of an unbearably noisy A/C (which also did't seem to provide any fresh air). The replacement room had the funniest loo I've ever seen: it was so cramped that I had to be creative and flexible to use it.
And only then you start to notice 'other things' in this hotel: that it's public areas are indeed dated and run-down, the wi-fi (free) could be faster, the rooms could be kept a little bit better, etc.
Contrary to other opinions, the breakfast was OK - a standard selection of food for a hotel of this level plus one of the best croissants I've tasted in a while.
To conclude - the hotel should indeed shed 1 star to conform to reality and then they would be OK - not being outpriced by any means. But you get what you pay for and as for me, I will chose another (newer) hotel next time when I am in Turin even if it costs a bit more - just to be sure my comfort is not at stake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aviationbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

i was there last December 2012,and my first impression with this hotel is looks like old one,need renovation so bad..and there was a lift that cannot open while there's people there,luckily its not my lift but other lift.and there's no porter..!! so when i entered the room,the room so dark,not clean,the bed are not comfortable..and the poorest part is the bathroom,the toilet can move from base when we sit on that,so you know,i cant use that that night,luckily i stay just one night..that was my terriblest hotel that i booked! so better not stay in there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turin hotels

london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm a little surprised by some of the negative reviews as this is not an 120 euro a night 4*, but rather a 60 euro a night 3* plus posing as a 4* - bear that in mind and it's a decent choice. Check-in was efficient and friendly and my room was nicely furnished and clean, if small - I was on the top floor and the bathroom was miniscule - I had to clamber around the shower to get to the loo, hitting by head on the roof angle. Colleagues, however, were on lower floors and had good seized rooms for the same price. There was no kleenex, but good toiletries, a flatscreen with 200 satellite channels (almost all Italian - none English) and the room was overheated. But is cost me 70 euros with breakfast - that's the point - and the breakfast was very serviceable with fresh pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, hot dishes and an espresso machine. Front desk serv ice was friendly and helpful and the general area, while not posh or very central, seemed safe to me with some decent restaurants, cafes and a small supermarket a few doors down to buy water etc. Wifi was free and worked reasonably well. Good value and well run - but don't go there expecting a posh 100 euro a night plus 48 or 5*

Room Tip: ask for room off the main road (a it noisy) and not on top floor where they are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
0.9 mi away
Art Hotel Olympic
Art Hotel Olympic
#50 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Hotel Fortino
Pacific Hotel Fortino
#33 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Galant
Hotel Galant
#23 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Turin-Corso Francia
2.9 mi away
Novotel Torino
Novotel Torino
#58 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#54 of 128 in Turin
3.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Torino

Address: Corso Regina Margherita 249, 10144 Turin, Italy (Formerly Mercure Torino Royal)
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Torino 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualys hotel Royal is located in a great location: a few minutes walk from the historic centre of Turin, less than 1 km from the Duomo, Porta Susa Station and the nearest underground station, about 1.5 km from the Juventus Stadium, 10 minutes away by car from Reggia di Venaria. Access to public transport in front of the hotel. Excellent location for sightseeing, to visit Juventus Stadium, to visit museums, exhibitions, cinema Museum, Egyptian Museum, Royal residences, movida torinese the quadrilatero romano and in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele along the embankments, possibility to park the car in the garage or the car park of the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant with regional and international cuisine, two bars and a modern and well equipped conference centre suitable for any type of meeting or event, for both for business, to organize private events baptisms, weddings, birthday parties. The property offers tastefully furnished rooms, Soundproofed and equipped with modern amenities. You can use your laptop for free WiFi in every room. The easy access to Torino Caselle Airport, the ring road and highways for all directions make it ideal for any need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Royal Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Turin
Mercure Hotel Torino Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing