We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings... but basically okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Carlo Felice, 60, 10121 Turin, Italy (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 128 hotels in Turin
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings... but basically okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Centrally located-few minutes walk to airport bus,railwaystation, metro and shopping streets; breakfast buffet clearly of higher standard than usual 3-star hotels, value for money (€54/night incl. breakfast), servile staff

Original doors to room and bathroom replaced with cheap aluminiumframed not-soundproof plastic doors; bathroom door unable to close; toilet close to useless - tiled wall and heater opposite the seat much too close ; cheap looking low quality closet and writing desk in white melanine - IKEA 80'es style. Booking said "mini-bar" and "balcony".. no sign of mini-bar and only a "french" balcony

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    117
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
32
85
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at here in late August 2013. Although the hotel was well located, and the room was pleasant, we were dismayed with the lack of concern or assistance when our room was burgled. This took place on our last day in the hotel, while we were at breakfast. Two iPads, an iPhone and a significant amount of money were stolen. When we reported this at the reception desk there was little concern shown. Instead we were told repeatedly that it couldn't have happened, and that we must have left our room unlocked. This was not the case. There has been no contact from the hotel, despite us leaving details with them, and an indication that they would follow up with their insurance agents. There are no safes provided in the rooms here. We asked where to go to report the theft to police in order to allow us to make an insurance claim - and were given incorrect advice. All in all, we were left with a very disappointing impression of the hotel, and would certainly not return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

if you travel to Turin for business or leisure, this, is the right place to stay.
Strategically located in the city center, near the railway station (that do not affect you at all), near the Metro, with taxi, bus and tramway in near the corner and a super protected private parking.
City center and shopping are are just a 1 minute walk.
The hotel is completely refurbished with a fantastic historical atmosphere.
Although inside the furniture are quite simple, but very elegant, you will have a very comfortable bed with excellent spaces also for work.
WiFi is very good and fast, only the breakfast is, at my advice a little bit poor but, you can easily integrate or have it in one of the hundreds bar near the hotel.

This hotel really deserve an higher star rating.
Price is super competitive.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, you will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ufa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Yes, when you approach the hotel from the railway Porta Nova station, you believe that in the older times it must have been the best hotel in town.Now it's struggling to give the best service given the lack of inside space. Reception staff was sincerely polite and efficient.
It was nice to find yourself there being immersed in an aura of a old dignified edifice - because soon they'll give way to concrete modern soulless hotels.
The most touching was the old "triple" window - the outer jalousi wooden blinds, window itself with 19 century fixtures and inner whole wood shutters (may be before electricity times they were supposed to keep the room warm in winter).
The room and the bathroom were impeccably clean. Though the bed base was too soft - you lie as if in a hammock.
Breakfasts are good, but the breakfast room staff seemed not very hospitable. Wi-fi was normal even within thick walls.

Room Tip: Choose rooms loking inner yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We ordered the "Basic Double Room", and couldn't upgrade since the hotel was full. So I recommend ordering any other kind of room, and then the only thing we didn't like at this hotel won't bother you. Our problems with the room were the following:
A- The room's door was plastic, that felt alarming and not secured enough.
B- The bathroom (with the same kind of plastic door) was super small. Really not comfortable.
C- The shower had an annoying curtain that kept sticking to you, and the shower head was super uncomfortable without a handle.
Except from that, the hotel and the room were beautifully designed (we even had a small balcony), and the breakfast was good.
Also, the location is very good. Close (or in a walking distance) to every attraction.

Room Tip: Don't order the "Basic Double Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, HI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are currently staying here, and wanted to share our obsevations. As ususal, there are good & bad things.
The good:
Great location. Easy to get around to various sites & shopping from this hotel. The room is slightly larger than usual, and it is clean. The bathroom is also large. There is free internet in the common areas. They have off street parking available on a limited basis. It is not cheap but is convenient.

The bad:
This location is noisy. Lots of street noise. No way to avoid it. The walls transfer sound from the adjacent rooms and you can hear literally everything yuor neighbors are doing and saying. This can make sleeping quite difficult.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is at the very heart of Turin. The "fancy" part of the city (Channel, Dior stores) are 2 minutes away. The architecture of the entire nearby block where we happened to walk the evening of the night when we stayed here consists of covered corridors along the buildings, including the hotel. The area at night looked a bit run down with grafiti and drunks around. Perhaps this is typical of Italy as this was my first time there. There was almost nothing open at the time (food stores, restaurants), not even at the train terminal nearby. We did eat at a nearby place where they sold pizza and hot dogs which was fairly good for "night food."

There was public parking on in the plaza in front of the hotel which was free from 12 a.m. to 8 a.m. There is a meter around the corner from the hotel which allows you to add money for the morning as well which is convenient so that you don't have to get there by 8 am to put in more money. I am not sure if they actually check for receipts there.

The hotel itself was interesting. It is in one of the buildings forming part of the typical city centre architecture which makes it a unique experiences. The concierge was not friendly but explained everything fairly clearly. He did confiscate our passports for 20 minutes when we checked in which was very unusual and disconcerting, but we got them back. There are elevators to the rooms, including a new glass one which is pretty cool as it is inside the main large square staircase. The room itself had high ceilings and old solid wood furniture which didn't seem to match but looked very solid. The TV was CRT which looked a bit antique. The bathroom was clean but the shower fairly inconvenient as most of the water sprayed beyond the small square tub.

The breakfast was included. It was very good with a large selection and amazing coffee which you make yourself at this super coffee machine that also makes hot milk. The breakfast area has an exit into a small inside courtyard.

Wifi was terrible in the room as the walls are thick concrete. There is good wifi in the lobby but make sure to ask for a code for each device you intend to use for wifi. The room was 79 Euros.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Address: Piazza Carlo Felice, 60, 10121 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 128 hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma e Rocca Cavour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.