We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large room thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour to your Saves list
Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Carlo Felice, 60, 10121 Turin, Italy (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“large room thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are currently staying here, and wanted to share our obsevations. As ususal, there are good & bad things.
The good:
Great location. Easy to get around to various sites & shopping from this hotel. The room is slightly larger than usual, and it is clean. The bathroom is also large. There is free internet in the common areas. They have off street parking available on a limited basis. It is not cheap but is convenient.

The bad:
This location is noisy. Lots of street noise. No way to avoid it. The walls transfer sound from the adjacent rooms and you can hear literally everything yuor neighbors are doing and saying. This can make sleeping quite difficult.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank high_standards_4_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is at the very heart of Turin. The "fancy" part of the city (Channel, Dior stores) are 2 minutes away. The architecture of the entire nearby block where we happened to walk the evening of the night when we stayed here consists of covered corridors along the buildings, including the hotel. The area at night looked a bit run down with grafiti and drunks around. Perhaps this is typical of Italy as this was my first time there. There was almost nothing open at the time (food stores, restaurants), not even at the train terminal nearby. We did eat at a nearby place where they sold pizza and hot dogs which was fairly good for "night food."

There was public parking on in the plaza in front of the hotel which was free from 12 a.m. to 8 a.m. There is a meter around the corner from the hotel which allows you to add money for the morning as well which is convenient so that you don't have to get there by 8 am to put in more money. I am not sure if they actually check for receipts there.

The hotel itself was interesting. It is in one of the buildings forming part of the typical city centre architecture which makes it a unique experiences. The concierge was not friendly but explained everything fairly clearly. He did confiscate our passports for 20 minutes when we checked in which was very unusual and disconcerting, but we got them back. There are elevators to the rooms, including a new glass one which is pretty cool as it is inside the main large square staircase. The room itself had high ceilings and old solid wood furniture which didn't seem to match but looked very solid. The TV was CRT which looked a bit antique. The bathroom was clean but the shower fairly inconvenient as most of the water sprayed beyond the small square tub.

The breakfast was included. It was very good with a large selection and amazing coffee which you make yourself at this super coffee machine that also makes hot milk. The breakfast area has an exit into a small inside courtyard.

Wifi was terrible in the room as the walls are thick concrete. There is good wifi in the lobby but make sure to ask for a code for each device you intend to use for wifi. The room was 79 Euros.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petochok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On arrival had a bit of a problem with parking being threatened by a 'person' demanding money or, 'Not safe' made my own threat and returned to find my bike spat on...not a good start and I was not impressed with staff reaction to this occurring!
The hotel was really lovely though, room was elegant and spacious
Breakfast was superb with good choices and included in price
I would certainly return here, quite impressed and impressive!

Room Tip: Be careful about parking when you first arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in Turin for two nights. First on the upside: the hotel is in a great location, just at the edge of the limited traffic zone and the breakfast is absolutely great. And then there it about stops. The room, though inexpensive, seemed to stem from the 1950's, crummy furniture, an noisy old loose aircomachine with a hose through the window, so the window could not close. Small balcony, connecting other rooms. so it feels very unsafe, both at night and during the day (for your belongings). The room itself has a key and lock more simple then the cupboard locks in our house. And no room safe. So don't leave any valuables in the room. The bathroom is simple and also old-fashioned, but it seemed clean.
There is a parking facility advertised. It says on the website you can't reserve it. In reality there's only six places, so with a hundred rooms, forget getting one. The desk clerk seems completely uninterested. He referred us to the underground parking garage across the street, but could not be bothered to come to street to help collect our luggage first. When we brought the luggage in ourselves, we could it leave it at the desk while we parked, but it did not occur to him to have it brought already to our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

As I lay on my bed in this old hotel I stare up at the rosette surrounding the simple chandelier on the 12 foot ceilings. It is beautifully painted in shades of yellow and gold to match the crown moulding around the ceiling! The AC is working fine on this 90+ degree day in Turin and this old hotel is a nice balance of comfort and history. The Roma e Rocca is conveniently located for train travelers like myself, just a short walk from Porta Nuova train station. The staff is very friendly and accommodating with the front desk staff having good English fluency for those in need. This is an economical and convenient hotel. Along with the friendly staff it is a good fit for anyone seeking those qualities for their stay. The breakfast is good,varied and plentiful. The breakfast room has a lovely outdoor piazetta in addition to indoor dining. A few bicycles are available on a complimentary basis. All said a pretty good economical hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC. Internet connection is spotty in rooms and best on the 2 nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuciotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were provided with a recently refurbished room (parquet flooring, flat screen tv...). Room was large, with also a 'study area' and a desk. Rooms have double glazed apertures. Ensuite was of a good size, with a walk-in-shower, wc, bidet and sink. Breakfast was simple but good, and included bread, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit and yoghurt, cheese, mortadella and salami, cereal, brioche, cakes, biscuits, juice, coffee and hot chocolate.... Hotel is perfect for a short visit to Turin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Interesting hotel. Good sized room, with good sized bathroom. A useful minibar, which had enough room to put additional items in to keep cold. No English speaking channels on TV that we could find. Breakfast room was a good size on the first floor. Good choice of food for breakfast, but no hot food that I could find. 2 lifts to chose from. Across the road from Porta Nuova train station, but to the side, so that there was no real traffic noise, and we had a balcony on the front overlooking the fountain and square, with the window open! We would return when next in Turin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Best Quality Hotel Gran Mogol
San Salvario
BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio
Starhotels Majestic
#21 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Adalesia Boutique Hotel
Adalesia Boutique Hotel
#20 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
San Salvario
Hotel Urbani
Hotel Urbani
#29 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Concord Hotel
#30 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Address: Piazza Carlo Felice, 60, 10121 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma e Rocca Cavour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing