We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour to your Saves list
Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Carlo Felice, 60, 10121 Turin, Italy (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Adelaide
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is one of those places from a bygone era. A hotel well past its prime, but still oozing genteel grace and charm. It's conveniently located on a small park close to Porta Nuova station and a short stroll away from the busy central Turin area.

Rooms are big and comfortable, with large en-suite bathrooms. and small balconies (if you're facing the park). Portable air-conditioning units have been placed in the rooms, with an exhaust vent cut through the balcony door to allow hot air to escape. I don't know how effective this arrangement would be, but fortunately in September we didn't need to use it. Staff were efficient and friendly, and most spoke reasonable English. The included breakfast was also very good.

We were only here for one night, en route from Paris to Cinque Terre, and had chosen Turin as it seemed a logical break in the rail journey. What we didn't realise was just how beautiful this town is. If there ever is a next time, we would love to revisit and give this place a lot more time than we had. It's a lovely city off the normal tourist routes, with a grace and history to rival some other more fancied destinations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    142
    69
    19
    9
See reviews for
37
102
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Don’t except a high end hotel or even a modern one, but the location is unbeatable. Buffet breakfast is excellent.

I would recommend it and if I return to Turin I will stay here again.

The hotel is very close to the mais railway station as well to the bus stop to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A great old-school hotel. Our 'comfort double' was the size of an apartment, with at least 4m ceiling height, floor to ceiling windows and french doors opening onto a small terrace, a massive bathroom, etc. It was great, with a kind of faded grand old hotel feel. But spotlessly clean, great bed, little noise, friendly staff. Why pay more for a postage-stamp sized room in a business hotel?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stay there for 3 nights. Overall the room is good, and even number rooms are face to the main street, the little balcony is so nice. The bed is ok, the worst is the bathroom, everytime is flooding after the shower. However, the location is no complain. 5 mins to supermarket, downstairs are main shopping area. From airport take the bus is less than Euro10. Take taxi is under Euro40. Next is the main train terminal to another city in Italy. Very convenience....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed one night here in transit from France. Great location and easy to find with metro and train basically just a few steps away. Very old world. We had a nice size room with large bathroom. Pleasant walk to the centre with amazing squares and buildings to explore. Great little restaurants around.
Breakfast was very nice, fresh and plentiful with great coffee. Free wifi was a bonus.
Only downside was the carpet needed a really good vacuum, which was a shame as the rest of the room and bathroom was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Here you feel real charm of the old Italy. Room was big and ceilings high, with balcony overlooking a beautiful square with the fountain. Hotel is just 200 m from the central station! At the same time you do not hear any trains. Easy walk to the historical center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A classic hotel with rooms in different sizes and with a wonderful location.
Our room was clean and spotless, and with a inspiring view over the Piazza, where we could follow tha daily life.
The staff was very accommodating and helpful.
We enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony and it was nice and differentiated.
Good stay for fair price - and there is free internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour

Address: Piazza Carlo Felice, 60, 10121 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma e Rocca Cavour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roma e Rocca Cavour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.