We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not very good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giotto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giotto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giotto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giotto, 27, 10126 Turin, Italy (San Salvario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 128 hotels in Turin
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not very good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've stay in Hotel Giotto for two nights and we don't have anything to say against the hotel itself. Nice room, without much space but mainly because we asked for an extra bed. The breakfast was OK, but not extraordinary and the staff was friendly and helpful. The area doesn't look safe at all, especially at night and we are advised by the staff to put the car in the hotel private parking (paid). It's not close to the city center, but it is easily achievable by metro (only three stops). The AC in the room was quite noisy and we had to turn it off during night. The wi-fi connection worked perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
18
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not sure what others are talking about. The lobby seemed run down and somewhat grey. Got into my room, althought the pillow cases had been washed, there were stains on one of the covers of the pillows. The box spring cover was stained and dirty, and there is no stand up shower, just a hand held spray device. I stay over 100 nights a year for work, and have traveled Europe for the last 7 months, and this, for the price, was definitely the worst hotel I've stayed at. For the room I had, I would pay no more than €40 a night, and I can assure you I paid much more than that. If you are an American traveler, ignore the rating and trust me, it's not what we're used to.
The only good thing I will say is the internet worked well, that was about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Giotto for three nights in late November. The hotel is in a quiet largely residential district and we had no problems with noise. With two parents and two kids, we stayed in a little suite under the roof with a small "roomlet" for the kids (just large enough for 2 rollaway cots), separated from our room by a door and large closet which allowed us a bit of peace. The rooms were clean and small. The bathroom had a bathtub and shower although you couldn't stand as it was under the angle of the roof. Showering while kneeling was an interesting experience.

For windows, it had large skylights in the angled roof, which you could open and close and from which you could see the roofs of Torino and the Alps in the distance.

The service was friendly and prompt. The continental breakfast (included in the price) was good, but not very varied and far from spectacular. The hotel is pleasant and unassuming in an earnest kind of way, with fixtures and decor dating from the 1980s or early 1990s.

The main drawbacks were that 1) although we had a non-smoking room, smoke poured into the room through the bathroom vent whenever guests below smoked, 2) the heating was overactive so that I sometimes overheated even with the window open, and 3) the hotel was located far (1.5 km) from the historic city centre (but close to the Borgo Medievale and Automobile Museum). But these problems were not unexpected in an economy hotel. The price was good, and we were happy with our experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

We stayed on the Hotel Giotto in early October--the hotel was booked for us by the organizers of the meeting we were attending. We really enjoyed our stay, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our group consisted of 7 people (1 senior, a family of four with children ages 8 and 10, one couple), the hotel worked well for all of us. The family group had a room for 4, not spacious but definitely sufficient for our needs. The rooms all had air conditioning, did take us all a few minutes to figure out how it worked but once the system was figured out, the rooms were nice and cool. Breakfast was reasonable, they did occasionally run out of certain items. The woman who served coffee etc in the breakfast room was wonderful and she made excellent coffee and cappucinos! The hotel was a block from the tram line making access to both the Lingotto (site of our meeting) and city center very easy. The hotel staff gave excellent recommendations for restaurants in the area. If we get back to Turin (depends on meeting locations), we would stay at the Giotto again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto

Address: Via Giotto, 27, 10126 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Salvario
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 128 hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giotto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giotto Hotel Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.