We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inaccurate Description ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diplomatic to your Saves list
Hotel Diplomatic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 127 Hotels in Turin
1 review
“Inaccurate Description ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 4 nights recently. The room was very strange. Only one useable socket at the far end of the bed which switches off when you leave the room hence inconvenient for charging a phone while going to breakfast for example. Shower was ridiculously small which was probably why the soap tray was above my head. Advertises air con and heating in every room but on enquiring why mine didn't work was told it was switched off because it was 'too cold'! Hence had to open windows and sleep on top of overly hard bed due to stifling heat. No safe in room. When I asked about the advertised airport shuttle service I was told where I could get a bus! Quite possibly the worst hotel breakfast I've ever attempted to eat with the only hot option being scrambled eggs. This review has gone on too long...much like my stay in this vastly overrated hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    347
    176
    61
    22
See reviews for
136
237
69
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impression was quite good with a spacious, clean foyer & Reception area. Check in was ok, however our room was ....... weird! No bedside table. No kettle. The smallest shower I've ever been in with a soap tray above my head ( I am a six footer!) the decoration in the room was that of a demented chess player. Only worse was the decor of the corridors which reminded me of a subway. it's a long time since I've had breakfast in a canteen ( in fairness they are having an overhaul) . The food though was grim and the coffee worse! This is supposed to be a four star hotel! I wouldn't have given it one!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Close to city attractions and good transport links. e.g trams, bus and trains.
Nice friendly staff in hotel.
Good variety of breakfast with flexible eating hours.
Room was spacious but shower was too small




















  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

As we were travelling by train, we wanted to be the station Porta Susa. This hotel is less about a 5 min walk, and then on 10/15 mins down to the city centre. Check-in was efficient , and we had one of the modernised rooms on the first floor, which was stylish, with a great shower room. Via Cernaia is very busy with trams, buses etc, but the 2 sets of double glazed windows kept most of the noise out. When we travelled the air-con wasn't working and the hotel very warm, so I had to open the windows to cool the room down. Just a 2 night stay. Breakfast room lacked character, and the selection was pretty mediocre. There appeared to be only one staff member on duty, so plates of bread, croissants etc, weren't being replenished. Reception staff were a bit cold and our the check-out was done with no eye-contact, a thank you or farewell greeting. Note to the hotel management - your staff at time of check-out are the most important, as that is the memory the guest takes away !

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa Province, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights. Room was clean, workers were polite, location is great (at downtown). I stayed more than 6 hotels in Turin. This hotel was best one. Only negative point is rooms must be renewed as soon as possible. Quality per price is good enough.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Was upgraded for free on arrival and stayed on the first floor in what was described as a junior suite. I wouldn't have used this term as there is no seating area it's just a large room that has been recently decorated and has a great shower room. Bed was a little firm but then we all like different types of mattress. Breakfast was included and was mostly continental tho there were hot options. If I were to come back to Turin I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located very close to the Porta Sosa train station. The rooms are clean, bit old, but in general in good order. We didn't have hot water and this is really bad if you cannot take a shower. We called and a guy came to see and told he will see and fix it, that never happened and he never called back. This is not good client service. The breakfast was good. Wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Turin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Turin
#24 Family Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomatic hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Turin, located in the historic centre of the city, a few metres from the Porta Susa railway station, the main hub of high-speed rail transit between France and Italy.However you choose to get to the Diplomatic, the hotel is convenient due to its proximity to the Torino Caselle "Sandro Pertini" airport terminal, to the new underground line which takes you to the "Lingotto Fiere" Congress Centre in a few minutes, to the Polytechnic University of Turin, the Olympic Stadium and the new Juventus stadium.Strolling under the beautiful and historic arcades in Turin you reach the city’s most beautiful squares (Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio Veneto, Piazza San Carlo, Piazza Carlo Felice), the main places of “Turin nightlife” (the Roman Quarter (Quadrilatero Romano), the Murazzi, the Banks of the River Po, the Dora Docks, the Valentino Park), the most important museums and cathedrals (the Egyptian Museum, The Museum of Cinema, the OGR Officine Grandi Riparazioni, the Mole Antonelliana, the Chapel of the Shroud, the churches of Gran Madre and Maria Ausiliatrice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diplomatic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.