We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a stop over or a visit to Turin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diplomatic to your Saves list
Hotel Diplomatic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Herefordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent for a stop over or a visit to Turin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this hotel as it is so near to the station. Porta Susa. It proved to be excellent and good value, The decor is rich and stylish and colourful. The first room we had was a family room at the rear, excellent, huge a huge bed and bathroom. Air con, Good TV and free wi fi that worked. The return visit they gave us a room on the front we changed and were given an equal room on the rear which faces a typical Turin courtyard and is quiet and away from the road. The walk into town along the covered arcade is lovely. There are trams into town so transport is easy. A very nice restaurant across the road.
Had a couple of drinks, not expensive, the breakfast was excellent. Lots of variety and typical italian style sweet cakes.
No reservations, highly recommended, apart from make sure you have a rear room away from the road.
But then you will have checked that out with google street view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    348
    177
    61
    23
See reviews for
136
239
70
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed 1 night (at the end of the trip in the Alba area & we wanted to be close to the Turin airport), but were quite pleased with the Diplomatic. First of all, it is VERY reasonably priced. It is very close to the Porta Susa train station, and has lots of trams and buses going by. Another draw is that it is not in a particularly touristy area so there are "real" shops close by (great little grocery store ((they really DO sell a lot of Barrilla pasta and sauce!)), meat & cheese shop, bakery, etc). Staff was very nice & accommodating. WE left too early to eat in included breakfast but they had the pastries, bread and fruit out already and it looked like it would be good. The room was smallish but quite adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location of the hotel, the breakfast and the room where all just perfect. The hotel staff could be a little more friendly to the residents but anyway we enjoyed our stay. Until at the very end, the hotel offered shuttle service to the airport, the price was attractive so unfortunatley I took the offer. We waited just outside our hotel for the taxi, as he arrived we placed all our laguage at the back of the vechile while i handed the driver my last bag (from my hand to his hand), but surprisingly enough the last bag did not arrive at the airport. I ended my holiday at the police station, almost lost my flight and without a cent in hand. We went home without our camera, purse, sunglasses, mobile phone, etc. I noticed the hotel porter going out of the foyer several times while we were waiting but I cannot say exactly what happend. I believe the driver dropped the bag intentionaly on the ground when I gave it to him and as he drove away someone was there to pick it up. DO NOT BOOK THE SHUTTLE SERVICE FROM THE HOTEL.

Room Tip: Our quadruple room in the corner was large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel was well situated for transport and sightseeing. The reception staff were very obliging. Our twin room was a little on the small side, with only room for one upright chair at the desk (no place to sit except the bed). However the bathroom did have separate bath and shower. Efficient aircon. The hotel appeared to cater for the business client although there were obviously other tourists staying. The breakfast was standard fare, drinks from a machine, which is fine when you have discovered which drink suits your taste. The hotel did not have any leaflets on 'Turin Attractions' which would have been useful. Having said that we found the Turin tourist office did not have any English leaflets on the various palaces (used the German one, which we found easier to translate). We usually research a city before visiting but on this occasion we booked last minute and only had basic info with us. We did feel that the tourist office could have had more information to promote some of the fabulous palaces there are in the city and surrounding area. Particularly how to get to some of the palaces on the outskirts of the city by public transport. Enjoyed our trip Hotel Diplomatic is fine for a short break.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everything here was excellent, from the moment of checkin to our departure. The room was comfortable and quiet, the air conditioning effective, and the bathroom very good. The breakfast each morning was great, with good variety. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke good English. We would recommend this hotel to those looking for value, convenience and friendly service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because of it's location in regard to Porta Susa. What I found was that it was conveniently located and took less than 5 minutes walk from the train station.

The hotel staff were friendly and checked me in very quickly. I had also written them an email asking when I could check-in and they responded in good time, which was appreciated.

The buffet breakfast was very well laid out with lots of choice available. I'm sure most tastes would be catered for. However, it was a shame that real fruit juice wasn't readily available (or perhaps was and wasn't marked).

The room was spacious enough and I had been given a single room. Satelite TV was available and many channels were free. However, I would say two things about the room itself. The carpet was a little worn and the power of the water coming out of the shower wasn't great. When you're in a hurry and you need a quick shower then don't count too much on this one!

I paid around £55 per night during my stay and for what I got I would say it was good value for money. Considering a buffet breakfast was in the price then I would go back again if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We choose this hotel for the position and for the excellent price offer. We stayed just one night and we really liked the hotel and above all the kindness of the receptionist: we booked an economy room without the car park, but they offered us the car park for free anyway, and they let us leave the car in the car park even after our checkout time for all the afternoon! This was very important for us cause the parking zones along the streets are very expensive! In that way they allowed us to visit the city for the day. Room was really clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was really good, with a lot of different things

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Turin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Turin
#24 Family Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomatic hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Turin, located in the historic centre of the city, a few metres from the Porta Susa railway station, the main hub of high-speed rail transit between France and Italy.However you choose to get to the Diplomatic, the hotel is convenient due to its proximity to the Torino Caselle "Sandro Pertini" airport terminal, to the new underground line which takes you to the "Lingotto Fiere" Congress Centre in a few minutes, to the Polytechnic University of Turin, the Olympic Stadium and the new Juventus stadium.Strolling under the beautiful and historic arcades in Turin you reach the city’s most beautiful squares (Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio Veneto, Piazza San Carlo, Piazza Carlo Felice), the main places of “Turin nightlife” (the Roman Quarter (Quadrilatero Romano), the Murazzi, the Banks of the River Po, the Dora Docks, the Valentino Park), the most important museums and cathedrals (the Egyptian Museum, The Museum of Cinema, the OGR Officine Grandi Riparazioni, the Mole Antonelliana, the Chapel of the Shroud, the churches of Gran Madre and Maria Ausiliatrice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diplomatic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.