We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Sitea

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Sitea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sitea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Carlo Alberto 35, 10123 Turin, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 128 hotels in Turin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Sitea during the World Masters Games, when it was quite full. The hotel coped well with the numbers and it never felt crowded. It has a pleasant, old world atmosphere about it, all brass and wood panelling, with a comfortable though rather small sitting area in the lobby. We had a de luxe room, with plenty of space; as well as a safe there is a walk-in, lockable cupboard with a good number of drawers and hanging space (and a reasonable number - not quite enough as usual - of clothes hangers. There were no tea/coffee making facilities, only the usual minibar with extortionate prices, useful only for keeping our own drinks cool. Two fresh bottles of water and two sweets were provided every day.

The room was kept clean and very tidy, though one day my wife's dressing gown (provided) disappeared, leaving us worried that we would be charged €90 for it. The language skills of the receptionist were not up to dealing with my wife's complaint, as when we returned in the evening, there was no sign of a replacement. A call to the concierge revealed that the chambermaid had been asked about a missing dress, about which she had claimed no knowledge. The magic word proved to be 'robe' and a replacement appeared within minutes.

The situation is very good, in a pedestrianised street within walking distance of most attractions and Porta Nuova Station. There are plenty of good restaurants, bars, cafés and gelateria nearby but the main nightlife area is far enough away to keep the area quiet at night. There is a low cost supermarket opposite the hotel, which is good if you want to buy snacks and drink but not so good as it sells cheap drink, which many of its customers drink while hanging about all day in the street. To be fair, they didn't seem to be interested in causing trouble and we never felt threatened by them. The room was quiet, though occasionally we would hear crashes and bangs from the courtyard below (our room was on the second floor at the back). The air conditioning was effective and fairly quiet, but I'm writing this in a modern hotel in which I can barely hear the fan.

Wifi has been mentioned in other reviews and I have to say that the standard falls far short of what you would expect of a top class establishment. The hotel should look for another service provider as this is doing its reputation no good. Granted there were occasions when temporary connection problems, which might have been caused externally, the service is just not up to scratch. It appears to have a very short threshold of inactivity, dropping the connection after as little as a minute. If you are browsing the internet, it usually picks up the connection quickly but often jumps you to an automatic login page. If you are using an app which connects online, like Mail on iPhone/iPad, you have to go back to your browser frequently to re-activate the connection, as refrshing the app doesn't do that. I have already tried to submit a review from the hotel using the TripAdviser app on my iPad, and the (quite lengthy) review disappeared, never to be seen again, after I clicked 'Done' because the connection had dropped. As well as that, web pages sometimes failed to load images and often failed to load the CSS file controlling the page format, leading to an almost unintelligible web page. Workarounds included keeping a tab open with the hotel website on it to allow me to click on a link to trigger the connection to restart, and, in extremis, to switch wifi off and on again. I know what I'm doing but this is just not good enough for ordinary mortals like my wife,mwhom I had to help repeatedly to use her iPhone.

The one other problem was at breakfast, which I should first say is superb, with a great choice including fresh fruit, though I was rather surprised to find boiled eggs were an extra €2 each, though scrambled eggs,mbacon and sausages were included in the standard buffet breakfast. The problem was that, twice during our stay, and well before many guests had eaten, they ran out of basic items (fresh fruit salad and yoghurt) and were unable to replenish them. Black mark for an establishment of this quality.

We paid much more than we normally do for this hotel but while many aspects were perfect, it is sad that I have to make a couple of adverse comments.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttoresitea, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sitea, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for your suggestions, they will help us to improve. Regarding the Wi-Fi we have improved the service and we are still working on it. Wi-Fi is free of charge for our Guests and the system is expensive for us so we strongly want to read that is a plus for you.
Regarding breakfast we pay attention to the buffet, but everything is done at the moment and need a little time to be ready on the buffet. Anyway our Staff is there for you and no-one remains without the whole buffet by closing time.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay, but if you come back I promise we try our best to turn it in a perfect stay
Cordially.

Fabrizio Musso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    210
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
128
319
48
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We did appreciate this hotel very much : in the centre of Turin and quite calm.
Everything very convenient both in room and bathroom.
Design of halls and rooms pleasant.
Breakfast was delicious, with good italian coffee.
We had a fun visit of Turin on board a "Calessino" (small three wheeled car) and enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttoresitea, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sitea, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
The APE Calessino Tour is really cool ;-)

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay.

See you soon in Turin

Fabrizio Musso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When travellling in Italy, we spent two nights in Grand Hotel Sitea in Turin. We highly recommend this hotel. Centrally located in the pedestrian area with all highlights within walking distance and still easily accessible by car (drive to the front door and leave the key at the reception - they will take care of the parking), the place has the tasteful and genuine atmosphere of a Grand Hotel carefully modernized. An extra bed for our kid was no problem in our deluxe double room. We also appreciated the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttoresitea, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sitea, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, Family are always welcome. I'm glad you enjoyed Turin.

See you soon!

Fabrizio Musso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is so well located in the center of Turin, and still it feels so quiet. You can walk to wherever you need from here. A branch of Eataly and many other good options are just one block away. It's also a 10 minute walk to Porta Nuova Train Station. I stayed in an almost perfect room (404). Super clean and good quality linen and towels, good bathroom, marvelous shower. There is room enough in the suite to do my daily yoga. There is no coffee making facility in the room, neither ironing. The breakfast is very good (for European standards, it is absolutely fantastic), serving good bread variety and quality, fruits, yogurts, eggs, sausage, bacon, salad and pastries. Most of all, the friendly, helpful and professional staff of the hotel really makes a difference. I stayed two weeks in this hotel and really recommend it. I also rented a bike for the two weeks with Marco, the bike renter just out of the hotel entrance. The only shortcoming is that, for some reason, the block where the hotel is attracts a good number of unpleasant people who sit around the cassino and the cheap supermarket next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttoresitea, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sitea, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Your stay looks like a perfect stay and we take such a joy and energy in reading your review to keep our efforts at the top for reading again and again reviews like yours.
I'm so happy that you enjoyed all the best the city center can offer.
See you soon!

Fabrizio Musso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location, the "grandness" of the facility, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and the beyond-belief breakfast,and the turtles in the patio were plusses of this hotel. Our rate included a highly-recommended walking tour of Turin with Fabia Lucco Castello. The same spacious third floor room we had in 2005 showed wear in the mattress, wall coverings, carpet and plumbing. Internet connectivity and speed was an issue, as well. While renovation will be welcomed, these issue won't stop us from choosing the Sitea.

Room Tip: We would recommend a top floor room until the plumbing is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttoresitea, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sitea, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing us for the second time. Regarding the rooms, we have in our Staff a decorator that makes renovation works 365 days a year, so I'm pretty good sure we have already looked into the problems reported. Thank you for notifying us and we apologize for any inconvenience. Regarding Wi-Fi issue, sometimes the problem is not the service but the different devices used, any way we made some changes with our provider and it looks like it's working properly.

I wait you for the third time, the "Sitea" is your home away from home ;-)

Fabrizio Musso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aosta, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is very central, between Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio and Piazza San Carlo - just the perfect location if you're visiting the beautiful Turin.
We stayed in a suite, it was perfect: the room was big and bright, very clean and cosy.
We had a buit-in wardrobe and a large bathroom, bright and clean as well.
The breakfast is included and it is amazing: the choice is huge - sweet (cereals, croissant, cakes and so on), savoury (cheese, bread, ham and so on), healthy (fruit, nuts), of course drinks, too ... all really well presented.
The inner garden is lovely: definitively enjoy your breakfast there. there are shelter for the sun, and you are in the garden (grass around and friendly turtles!)
As you enter, you have the idea of the high standard of the hotel - the hall is wide and elegant. What I didn't really like was the reception on the right in Via Carlo Alberto - it looks more like a office than a reception... but the staff is really nice and helpful.
Of course you pay for the service and the quality, all deserved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttoresitea, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sitea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay. We pay a lot of attention in our Buffet Breakfast, our Guests they have to start the day in the best way possible :)
Our turtles are so happy when they are mentioned in the reviews ;-)

We wait for you soon, Turin has got new treasures to show you!

Fabrizio Musso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautifully appointed rooms and rich, varied breakfast are especially noteworthy. Moreover, @EUR100/night my single room represented excellent value for money. As noted though, Internet speed is a major problem and likely only to suit those nostalgic for their 1994 14.4k modems (not kidding, I actually measured the connection speed).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direttoresitea, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sitea, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry for the Wi-Fi, we are working on it and improving the service. Even if it's free for our Guests we want to offer a good connection. I have just made the speed test and I have registered 6.00 Mbps in download and 6.00 Mbps in up-load, it looks speedy.

Cordially

Fabrizio Musso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Sitea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sitea

Address: via Carlo Alberto 35, 10123 Turin, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Turin
#1 Family Hotel in Turin
#1 Business Hotel in Turin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sitea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Hotel SiteaA four-star hotel featuring history, tradition and elegance in the heart of TurinBuilt in the early 1900s and featuring a traditional brand of hospitality, the Grand Hotel Sitea in Turin is superbly positioned for those who want to be able to get about the city centre on foot for shopping and other needs.Located in the elegant heart of Risorgimento Turin, just off the very central Via Roma and Piazza San Carlo and a few minutes’ walk from Piazza Castello, this four-star hotel charms guests with its discretion and reserve, and is characterised by a refined atmosphere and attention to every detail.Its traditional cuisine and attentive service make the Grand Hotel Sitea’s restaurant an appreciated gourmet stop. A Turin point of reference for its high-profile hospitality, experience and well-equipped spaces, the Hotel Sitea offers a congress centre that is formed by four well-lit rooms for 100 people.Benvenuti al Grand Hotel SiteaUn albergo 4 stelle di storia, tradizione, eleganza nel cuore di TorinoSorto nel primo Novecento ed improntato ad un’ospitalità di tradizione, il Grand Hotel Sitea di Torino vanta una posizione ideale per chi desidera spostarsi a piedi fra le vie del centro, così come per fare shopping.Situato nel cuore elegante della Torino risorgimentale, proprio alle spalle della centralissima Via Roma e di Piazza San Carlo, a pochi minuti da Piazza Castello, quest’hotel 4 stelle affascina per discrezione e riservatezza, caratterizzato da atmosfere ricercate e curate in ogni dettaglio.La cucina di attenta tradizione e il servizio curato rendono il ristorante del Grand Hotel Sitea un’apprezzata meta gourmet.Punto di riferimento a Torino per l’accoglienza di alto profilo, con la sua esperienza ed i suoi spazi attrezzati, l’hotel Sitea dispone di un centro congressi formato da quattro luminose sale per 100 persone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Sitea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Sitea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.