We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Mogol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Mogol to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Mogol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guarini 2, I-10123 Turin, Italy (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 127 Hotels in Turin
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    138
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
47
81
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose this place based on its ranking and seemingly favorable reviews. What a complete farce. Let me list the issues: 1. Smack dab in the middle of an Irish pub that's packed until the 3 Am. You might as well drink and join in the fun because your not going to sleep at night. 2. Some outrageous phone in some weird office will not stop ringing....no joke. 3. The rooms are too small for a petite mouse. Done plan on unpacking even the smallest of bags. 4. Noisy AC that doesn't work. 5. Staff only opens the door when they feel like it "for security reasons." 6. They smallish twin bed is less comfortable then a hammock. If your an adult that doesn't want to stay at a youth hostel then keep this one far, far away from your list of hotels. How it gets this rating is nothing short of a miracle (not counting the Shroud of Turin).

Room Tip: My tip is not to stay here. Pay more and enjoy this beautiful city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If awards existed for the most boring, pointless city then Turin would be rife with accreditations, however pretty some parts of it are.
One bright spot however is this hotel, kindly located around the corner from the main station, one block back, where my train from Florence arrived into.
I booked a twin for myself and a friend; a twin room we got...in addition to a huge bathroom and a lounge!! It was almost a suite for a very healthy cost of €175 for the two nights I stayed. A very pleasant surprise to have such a lovely room.
It was very clean and well maintained during my stay, the bed was super comfortable and the shower a delight.. must be something about Italian showers as that's two on the same trip I've fallen in love with!!
Perfect for a solo traveller and a couple. Definitely recommended.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located less than 10 minutes away from the Porta Nuova station and the main shopping streets are just around the corner. Despite of the central location, it was peaceful and quiet area. We had booked superior class room and it was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast had all the essentials and the service was welcoming and warm.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

My wife and I visited Turin, 5-10th March, to see our niece who is currently engaged in a six month placement, as part of her university course, with a Turin based design studio. After some extended searches of Trip Adviser reports on Turin hotels we decided to try Hotel Gran Mogol. We believe that this was, overall, a good choice.

We travelled via the airport bus (Euro 6.50) to the city where we were dropped off close to Stazione Porta Nueva and made our way to the hotel approx. 400 metres. After some initial delay in finding the hotel, Via Guarini is a very short street, we were put at our ease by a friendly greeting, in English, by the hotel staff. Registration and room allocation was speedily and efficiently accomplished. We made our way to our room, 309, via a lift that was very small, 2 people plus suit cases being the maximum load. The room itself was about average size for a tourist type establishment, clean and with the usual range of furniture. The main storage facility for clothing etc. was a tall two tier fixed wardrobe/cabinet which we found accommodated all our "stuff". However, care has to be taken when placing in or retrieving "stuff" from the storage as the TV is attached to the wall in such a position that it is very easy to hit ones head on the TV.

We also soon found that there was no safe in the room, but, safes were available in the hotel foyer (free of charge) in which to stow personal valuables. Breakfast was available from 07.00-10.00 each morning, served in the basement area and, consisted of cereals, fruit, a cooked alternative, plus toast, rolls etc.

Although any reader of this assessment might think that there were many niggling minuses against this hotel it is when one goes out one appreciates one of its main attractions. It is very well situated; 30 metres from Via la Grange, Via Roma within 300 metres. Travel down either of these two main thoroughfares, with shops and, you will arrive at the Palazzo Madama with the Piazza Reale and various museums within easy reach. There are also many restaurants and cafes to attract the hungry and thirsty visitor.

Overall we thought that the staff, friendly, polite, and efficient went along way to correct our doubts and if we were to return to Turin we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and were pleased with the hotel. Its is very close to the train station (about a 5 minute walk) and easy to find. The reception staff are so helpful and welcoming. They helped us with everything we needed from restaurant reservations and tour bookings, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was large and nicely presented. The only small problems were that the shower was in the middle of the bath which was awkward and there was no where with plug sockets suitanle lighting and a mirror. Breakfast had a basic selection but was not replenished very regularly. There was free wifi which was fast and a definet plus!Overal a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Stayed in Gran Mogol for 3 nights. The hotel is well appointed, spacious by European standards and very well-located. It's very clean and had modern amenities like TV (limited English channels), shower over bath (although shower space is rather tight and awkwardly situated). There no niceties like body lotions or shower caps but there's a hair dryer. The beds are reasonably comfortable but a little springy for my liking. Breakfast consists of basic pastries, bread, eggs, bacon/ham and juices. Best thing is the location - near the main Porto Nuova station, right at the edge of the old town, easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Very pleasant stay!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Mogol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Mogol

Address: Via Guarini 2, I-10123 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Turin
#20 Family Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Mogol 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Mogol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Turin
Best Western Turin
Turin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Mogol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.