We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Osteria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Sorriso

La Locanda del Sorriso
Via Saluzzo 6, 10127 Turin, Italy
+39 011 6596142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #396 of 2,397 restaurants in Turin
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Gex, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A real Osteria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just passing by in the late evening, still a lot of people dining, and we got our table for two in five minutes. Very friendly service and excellent food from the starters to the dessert. If you want to enjoy the Italian athmosphere and tasty food, this is a must to visit. The location is perfect, just out from the touristic area, but still so close to the town centre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    63
    77
    29
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent regional cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small restaurant, excellent food, reasonably priced. Loved watching the cook at work through the window (from one table view). We returned - and again, excellent food, so we'll return when we return to Torino.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem near Porta Nuova”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent food and one of the most friendliest staff in Torino! Small restaurant, so either get there early enough or be ready to wait. If you have to wait, they will give you complimentary wine. Try the lamb (Brassatto) and blue fish dishes! Don't be concerned that it is near the main Torino train station (Porta Nuova). The so called red light district is way south end of the train station. I didn't care for the Finanziera dish (soup made of entrails), but everything else was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went there for dinner.
Service was friendly and helpful.
We were offered a free sample of crostino with home-made insalata russa, which was really tasty.
The brasato with mashed potatoes was excellent, less so the ravioli with sugo d'arrosto (very ordinary). The Bunet we had for dessert was really good.
We paid 60Euros for 3 mains, 2 puddings, 1/2 lt. wine and tap water.
One thing I didn't like was the fact that the menu didn't include the wine list: it was served in a jug, there's no way to know how much it cost, also because the bill didn't specify the single cost of each item... Annoying!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On holiday with my mum, we both loved this little restaurant. The lunch was excellent, and we returned the following day for dinner. Really interesting menu - so nice to see some good old fashioned cooking and get away from the normal pasta pizza stuff. My venison civet with polenta was absolutely delicious, as was mum's chicken, and the tiramisu was superb. I am really fussy about food, as a chef myself, but I have every intention of returning so I can try more! Only criticism is the stark lighting and lack of decoration - a couple of lamps and a few candles would make all the difference!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Sorriso also viewed

 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to La Locanda del Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Sorriso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.