We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice apartment, not so great neighborhood.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VitaminaM Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added VitaminaM Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
VitaminaM Bed & Breakfast
Via Belfiore 18, 10125 Turin, Italy (San Salvario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 161 Turin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice apartment, not so great neighborhood.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

PROS:
Very nice & Stylish apartment. It definitely makes you feel welcome, and encourages you to hang out in the living room.
The staff (we dealt with Francesco) was very nice, very helpful, and accommodating.
Beds were comfortable. Came with breakfast.
Close to the rail station and the metro stop.

CONS:
It's on the, what Europeans call, 4th floor (Americans would call 5th floor) with NO elevator. So every time you come home, you have to walk up 4 flights of stairs. And if you have a lot of heavy bags... prepare yourself.
It's in a very sketchy neighborhood. The first night we got there, we walked to dinner and encountered several different groups of sketchy looking guys and more homeless people than I could count. Well, that was the last time we walked anywhere near our building after dark. If we came back late, we always took a cab.
And lastly, our room smelled of B.O. (bad Body Odor). I couldn't figure out for the life of me where it came from, but every few minutes both my wife would smell it, and we went nuts trying to figure out if it was in the sheets, or the pillows, or the comforter... we never got to the bottom of it. I'm still very curious where that smell came from?!! And it was every night and just in our room. The living room was fine, so naturally we spent most of our waking moments in there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
26
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stylish, comfortable and friendly bolt-hole in central Turin. Three rooms all with well-equipped real bathrooms. Great hospitality from Marco and Francesco, and good breakfast offerings, not usually an Italian strongpoint. Having lived in Turin previously we were a bit wary of the location, near to Porta Nuova railway station. The surrounding area is however experiencing a renaissance as is Turin itself from a tourist viewpoint. Transport links are good, best not to bring a car, although there are private underground garages nearby. The test for me is "Would we go back?", the answer is most definately "Yes".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Inside is such a surprise- there is a light airy White room with red decorations, an elegant 70s red leather chaise longue and other quirky items. The room I stayed in had air con, space, was spotless and had a full length bath with spa. Breakfast generous and personalised. Marco the owner so helpful and polite he even drove me to the station. They are hoping to get a lift- it is up four floors- but it
is a wonderful place, like living in Turin. Unlike my friends in faceless hotels I had keys, freedom to come and go, advice when needed, yet nothing intrusive. Close to the new Metro Marconi stop which is fast and efficient. A great stay- will come back next time in Torino!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

If you’re planning to visit Torino I would highly recommend VitaminaM. This is a B&B like no other completely unique run by Marco a gracious host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This place is a gem, right in the center of Turin. I stayed there with my partner for a long weekend last year, just before Christmas, and can highly recommend it.

The place is beautifully decorated with a lot of design items and musical instruments. We stayed in the room called 'Leslie', which was spacious, very tastefully decorated and had all the mod cons you'd expect. Also, the place has wi-fi, which is a nice touch as it meant i could get online at night. In the morning, the breakfast was delicious, with great italian coffee and a selection of croissants and homemade cake. The staff were all really nice and gave us really good pointers for discovering Turin.

All in all a great design b&b: spacious clean rooms, in a great location, with great service!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I couldn't get my accommodation in this B&B, because at the moment of payment via CC of the deposit , I selected 60euros instead of 80euros as required by the the owner. It was my mistake. But the owner Marco Belmondo called me by phone and he said that it wasn't the right value consequently for him the transaction wasn't right and he told me that he should give me back the money and HE GOT DOWN THE PHONE (really ill-mannered!!). While it was easy: I could do another payment of 20euros and the problem (was it?) was fixed.
In my opinion the reason was this: the day before I spoke by phone with the sister of the owner and she told me that the Leslie room was at 50euros per night (I booked for 3 nights), so she gave me the room at a lower price of the standard, maybe she made a confusion of prices. After that the owner received other booking requests, so just to take more money, he refused my booking with a REALLY INSIPID PRETEXT.
A professionist should NEVER GOT DOWN a phone call with a client!! Especially for a banal error of 20euros. I repeat: I could do another payment of 20euros in only 1 minute by internet.
If these are the premises, I advise against this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Let's be frank: the B&B is superbly decorated with design items and is very beautiful. However the contact with the manager and the overall impression cas quite disappointing, considering the expectations after visiting the website. First surprise: the B&B is actually located on the 4th floor of an old building close to Porta Nuova Station, without lift. Although it was not a problem for me and my friends, it is quite surprising that nothing is told about it on the website. Therefore this B&B is not recommended for disabled people or people with heavy luggages. Second surprise, our room had no window and was very hot. Third surprise, the w-ifi was out of order in our room. We had to connect our netbook in our friends' room, which was no problem for us but which could have been quite annoying if we were staying alone in that particular room. Breakfast was not as expected. Although there was a good homemade cake, there was no fresh bread and the choice of items was limited. We asked the manager for good restaurants in the neighbourhood. He recommended one which was closed in August and another one where obviously a reservation was necessary to get a table. So we eventually went for a restaurant close to the other two. All in all, staying at this hotel was not very pleasant. Obviously, the management is more comfortable with Italians than with foreigners... Manager don't speak English very well nor French.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VitaminaM Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VitaminaM Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Belfiore 18, 10125 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Salvario
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your VitaminaM Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VitaminaM Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.