We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Torino Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Torino Centro to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Torino Centro
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Corso Inghilterra 33 | in front of the new station of Porta Susa, 10138 Turin, Italy (Cit Turin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 149 Turin B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed one night in September and really enjoyed the accommodations. The room and bathroom were larger than we expected, everything was very clean, and we liked the substantial wood furniture. Having the windows open was wonderful, and the street noise was not bad, however, this was our first visit to Europe, so everything was a bit novel to us. Regular visitors may prefer them closed.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and offered suggestions for transport and restaurants. Breakfast was great for us as we had learned, after a week in frieze and a week in southern France, to enjoy pastry as a breakfast mainstay. Continental breakfast has never appealed to me in the US, but the way Europeans do it, we think it's dandy and now miss it.

To get to the train station for the trip to Paris we walked out of the hotel a few steps, went down the stairs to the tunnel under the street, and emerged a very short distance from our boarding station. Very convenient.

Will definitely stay there again if we come back to Torino.

Room Tip: We faced the street in a room with a queen bed. Third floor I think. Liked that position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
53
45
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a business stay for 6 nights. I chose this hotel because it was close to the conference I had to attend. The room was clean, OK size but bad design, where I personally dont like the closet was located at the far end of the room not near the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. Air conditioner was operated by the staff, not by us in the room, so I found this was inconvenient. Hotel location was great, close to the city and train station (which we did not need). However the bad side, it was noisy due to the traffic all night and people who passed by/eating/chatting nearby. Breakfast was not really great, just OK. For me only nice coffee and bread is enough.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's a good located hotel in the center. You can find good restaurants and caffeteria nearby. The rooms are big and staff nice. The breakfast is ok for the price. They don't have many parking places. For one night it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose this hotel simply for its convenience and proximity to Torino Porta Susa station (for the early morning TGV direct to Paris) as well as the Avis car hire branch where we needed to return our car and we were not disappointed. Infact this hotel has many more positives to report including: large spacious rooms, and a decent sized bathroom, a big balcony and doors opening onto it. All perfectly clean. Very helpful staff at the front desk. Convenient parking right outside, useful for the luggage drop off before returning the hired car. There was no urgency to move the car either until we had checked in and were ready to return it. This was appreciated as parking is a premium. Free wifi. All this for a very competitive rate.

Excellent proximity to Torino Porta Susa. If you have heavy luggage there is an elevator just a few steps from their door which drops you down into the station. No need to struggle with stairs. The station is one of the cleanest and classiest I have seen in a long time. It's only a pleasure to travel through there. Avis is on the other side of the station, and there too you get excellent, pleasant service from Lorenzo.

The gelateria on the corner La Romana gives you instant access to some of Torino's best ice-cream. A great restaurant within easy walking distance is La Capannina (see my other reviews) and the main centre is also a very pleasant, even if a bit of a lengthy walk. Could take you 30-60min depending on how many shops you stop in at.

This is a great hotel choice, it's not overly glam, but it delivers. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our three-night stay here started out badly. We booked a room with a group through a travel agent. When we arrived at the hotel, it was very hot and we discovered that the air conditioning was not available. Our room faced a very busy street, and with the window open, it was quite noisy. So, I requested a room facing the garden. We were then given a much smaller room with a very small bed. When we first settled in this room, I used the free Wi-Fi (that barely worked) to check the hotel prices. At that time they were offering the room at about 82 euro for the first two nights, then 60 some euro for the last night. We had paid 95 euro through the travel agency and had ended up with a very substandard room.

I went to the reception desk and explained my dissatisfaction, especially given the price that we had paid. The young woman at the desk was somewhat rude and said that she had already explained why the air-conditioning wasn't on (either the heat or air-conditioning could be switched on, depending on the season, but they weren't yet sure if the weather was going to stay hot). After some discussion, she suggested that I speak to her supervisor in the morning. Then, I asked her if there was a room with two single beds facing away from the street. Finally, she realized that there was and we were moved to a very nice, large room.

So, in the end we had a decent room, although we were stuck paying too much. The initial exchange with the reception clerk left me feeling that this was not a very friendly place. Other front desk staff were equally unfriendly.

Although part of the building is beautiful and old, most of the rooms are with characterless.

I will choose another hotel next time I go to Turin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street are very noisy with windows open. They seemed quiet enough with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights at Torino Centro, in a lovely refurbished room with wooden floorboards and a modern bathroom. Our room was large, spotless, and was serviced daily before we had even finished breakfast. We had requested a quiet room on a higher floor, which we received.

Free wi-fi was available for the duration of our stay.

Breakfast was in the café next door (enter directly from Reception), with excellent coffee and a very good continental buffet with a wide range of choices.

Every member of staff we encountered was polite, friendly and helpful.

The hotel is right next to Torino Porta Susa railway station, which is served by the new Italo high speed trains. People with large luggage or mobility problems should note that there are a few stairs from the street to Reception. Construction work at the station during our stay resulted in some station exits being blocked; this was not a huge problem, it just meant there was a slightly longer walk between the station and the hotel. We did not notice any construction noise while in the hotel, and our sleep was not affected.

Central Turin and the Palazzo Reale, Palazzo Madama and Piazza Castello are a pleasant and easy 20-30 minute walk from the hotel, along Via Garibaldi; alternatively, there are buses, trams and the Metro.

For a 3-star property, we thought Torino Centro was excellent value at approx. EUR 80 per night including breakfast for two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've been there for 3 nights, weel located, excelent reception, free internet, ladies at reception very good and very helpfull. excellent breakfast food and service. Quiet area. I recommend it NO DOUBT. If I go back to Turin definetely I'll hire this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Torino Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Torino Centro

Address: Corso Inghilterra 33 | in front of the new station of Porta Susa, 10138 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > Cit Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Torino Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Residence Torino Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Torino Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.