We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite place in Turin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magorabin

Magorabin
Corso San Maurizio, 61, 10124 Turin, Italy (Vanchiglia)
+39 011 8126808
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Magorabin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #355 of 2,532 Restaurants in Turin
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vanchiglia
Turi, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my favourite place in Turin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have been many time in this restaurant and have never been disappointed. The entire staff is professional, go out of their way to be helpful, and really make your stay pleasant and wonderful. You can find there the creativity and high level of the quality. Innovative Chef proposes many many delicious surprises. Once you go there you will definitely be back

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    83
    52
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must for food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you are looking for creative Italian cooking this is the place to go. My partner took a set menu and I went a la carte. Both wonderful.
My guess was that we were the only non-Italian (tourists) in the restaurant. However, if you do not speak Italian, do not worry, the staff speaks english. The chef probably not : our table was the only one he avoided for a chat and taking our orders. He made up for that in his kitchen: excellent, exploring, creative dishes appeared in front of us.
We were surprised by the wine recommendation. The price was quite low for an excellent (young) wine which accompanied our differentiating dishes perfectly.
Do go !

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Innovative with a great service but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

he chef of this restaurant is special ! Non only because he welcomes some of thé guests and takes the orders, but also because he seems willing to invent his own path in the gastronomic land.
The restaurant is a quiet place and you have to ring a bell to get in. Classy and smily, the service is superb in at least 3 languages (French, English and Italian...). The wine specialist is precise and willing to help you discover the wines of the region.
What makes this chef unique is his tendency to mix seafood and meat. This is his signature! I went for the 6 dishes meal (75€) and it's great value for money.
4 dishes need to be detailed :
Veal and tunna 
Fried Scallop and raw ham
Beef tongue and raw shrimps
Pork belly and shrimps 
To be honest, each of them was somehow disapointing, most of the time because the meat taste took over the seafood taste. Something is missing for the harmony to be found...
Overall this young chef is to be followed carefully.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the nondescript exterior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My friend and I had booked Magorabin ( yes, its one word not two) for lunch on the day we arrived in italy and taken the express bus from Milan airport to Turin. So we were famished when we reached the restaurant at 130 pm. When the taxi left us on the street, we were wondering if he was mistaken as we could not see any restaurant frontage in this quiet residential type road. Looking for the number and seeing a small sign on a white door, we rang a doorbell and was ushered into this smart restaurant. I was a bit hesitant about trying the chef's 7 course degustation menu ( worried that its too much for our small Asian appetites) but as they do not allow one person to order that and another a-la-carte, we decided to go for it. The food is very good and innovative ( fusion in concept) but as another reviewer had said, 7 courses did turn out to be 10 courses with the bread, amuse bouche and palate cleansing sorbet. I really did not quite enjoy nor finish the last few courses just because i was so stuffed! ( The food was good but I really was into the Law of Diminshing Returns by then). It will really need a man with very big appetite to be able to finish the whole lot. The price at E65 is very reasonable for the quality and amount of food. The more economical set lunches at E30+ was not available for weekends and it just happened to be a saturday. For the ambience and service , the wine and aperitifs were also reasonable. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good value fine dining but to go for a-la-carte if you have small appetites so as not to waste good food. The Chef explained each course as it was set before us with much aplomb and flourish. Overall , a pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Gastronomic restaurant at affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I found this restaurant while browsing through the Gambero Rosso. They were quite spot on, even underrated. The reception was good, service was great, the wine list hors pair (500+ wines), and most importantly, the food quality is very good. The price/quality ratio was excellent - €35 for 5 creative dishes. The chef is part of the renowned "Jeunes Chefs d'Europe". Overall, this is a gastronomic restaurant at affordable prices. Highly recommended - we can't wait to go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magorabin also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Magorabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magorabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.