We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money located near Turin's Central Train Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Star Torino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Star Torino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residence Star Torino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Susa, 5, 10138 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 128 hotels in Turin
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money located near Turin's Central Train Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I were enjoying a trip of Italy and had to change plans to include a stay in Turin. We came across this apartment due to the good reviews and reasonable prices (approx Euro80 p/nt) and booked less than 2 weeks before staying).

It's a 5 minute walk from Porta Susa station which is a beautiful station reminding me of Paris's Charles de Gaulle Terminal One after having been recently renovated.

We were made very welcome by the front desk staff and were massively impressed by the studio apartment we choose. There's many who, if living in a £500K apartment in the middle of London, this would be positive luxury, with decent sized living area, separate bathroom and bedroom. Not that my wife and I were too bothered as there's lots to discover in Turin but there were two TV's with lots of channels!

Anyhow, the staff were very helpful to tell us where to find the local grocery shop (a Carrefour about 5 minutes walk) and nearby restaurants (one of which I've done a review for which was simply fantastic, The Bakery, about 10 minutes walk away).

Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay with a good location being near to the Metro which gets you in to downtown in less than 20 mins from leaving the apartment and stands for the things many of us look for when on holiday: good living quarters in a convenient location which doesn't cost the earth. I can only but recommend this establishment and would definitely stay again if returning to the lovely city of Turin.

Room Tip: Many rooms include kitchenette's and with a nearby supermarket, you can easily buy a few staples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    36
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
25
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our group enjoyed five rooms here last month. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. The staff are very helpful and courteous. The students in my group loved having a kitchen in their rooms and took advantage of the opportunity to do a little grocery shopping nearby and prepare a few meals. It was a nice change from all of the eating out we had done. The location is extremely
Convenient to Porta Susa. A number of good restaurants in the area or within walking distance. The neighborhood is a bit loud so difficult to sleep with the Windows open and the air conditioner was not turned on while we were there so the rooms were a little stuffy. Overall I would not hesitate to return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

As a family of five we really liked this place. The rooms were spacious and we even had a kitchenette. It was close enough to the centre that we could walk in and the area itself was good. We weren't leaving till late the next day and the staff let us load up in the hotel's private car park even though we hadn't paid for that service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Star residence is my home far from home. I can't even compare the service I received here because it is not a service...it is much more like a family taking care of one of its own.
The staff it is like a family to me: Fulvio, Chiara, Mario and Alessandro will bend backwards twice to make your stay pleasant and smooth. They constitute an A team players who provides, with no doubt, the best service and care I have ever found in Italy.
Then, when you get into the room and find a spacious and modern space at a fair rate in a nice location....well, there's nothing more to say.
Perfect for business travelers and fitted for tourists, Star Residence MUST be your only and unique choice during your stay in Torino.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had been driving around Italy in an Avis car and needed to drop it in Turin one afternoon and catch the TGV to Paris from Porta Sulsa Torino the next morning. This hotel is conveniently a short walk from both the Avis depot and Porta Sulsa. It is some distance from the main entrance to the station, but is very close to one of the side entrances. Unfortunately, at 6am in a hurry, it wasn’t obvious to me how to get from the side entrances (which seem to go straight down to track level) back to the concourse. If you are trying to do it I suggest first asking the hotel front desk who were generally extremely helpful.

It is an “only online bookings” hotel which concerned me, but in fact they were extremely responsive. The hotel appears to be recently renovated and my room was simply delightful. Modern and well appointed and a good size. I wouldn't use this as a base from which to explore the main attractions of Turin (I prefer to walk, and it would be public transport from here), but is a pleasant enough area.

There is no restaurant in the hotel and I did something I would normally avoid like the plague, and asked the front desk for a suggestion. The result was simply superb! They thoughtfully asked about my trip, then suggested that since I had an interest in food of the area I dine at El Crinet Trattoria, a short walk. It was superb and typically Piedmontese. They were very patient with my Italian, but I overheard a conversation further away where they discussed the menu in good English with another table. A really nice night, but wines by the glass were limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was very satisfied about the room, about the service and cleanliness. If you are couple, in my opinion you definitely must check this hotel. It's cute and it's worth it because the rooms has almost anything you need (even for a small family).

Room Tip: Rooms from last floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our experience of this hotel was generally good, but for every aspect there was a 'but'. The room was very spacious and clean, and it was nice to have two TVs (one by the bed), but the bathroom was very small. The decor and furniture was modern and trendy, but we would have preferred it to be more traditional and comfortable, though we slept well enough. The small kitchen would be very useful to self-caterers, but we weren't.

Other reviews praised the staff and service highly, and at best - when the endlessly helpful lady with the brilliant English who gave us lots of good advice was on reception - they were excellent; but there were other times when reception staff, though willing, had difficulty either understanding or answering our questions. The Star cafe a few doors down the street which was recommended to us for breakfast was fine when open, but 2 mornings out of our 4 it was shut (on the Sunday because it always shuts on Sunday, on the Saturday with no reason given). And the price of the breakfast was more than the hotel's card said it would be, though still very reasonable.

The location was our biggest disappointment. We had thought, from reading other reviews and looking at the map, that this hotel was very near the historic centre of Turin which we intended to spend most of our time exploring. But because of the need to go a long way round Porta Susa station, it was at least a 30 minute walk, reducing the amount of walking one has the energy to do when one gets there. We tried taking the bus, which was OK when it came quickly, but once we had to wait 20 minutes for it. The best and fastest option was to take the metro to Porta Nuova, but even that took 25 minutes because of the walk the other end. We will stay somewhere nearer the Centro next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Star Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Star Torino

Address: Via Susa, 5, 10138 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 128 hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Star Torino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home, your hotel, in Torino. To feel yourself at home, in a quiet corner of an elegant and lively district; in the heart of Torino, few steps from Torino Porta Susa railway station, the tube station and the Court Palace; our Star Residence, with Hotel services and facilities. You are offered different stays: for one day, one week, one month, or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Residence Star Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Star Torino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.