We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GUIDO GOBINO

GUIDO GOBINO
VIA LAGRANGE 1, Turin, Italy (Centro)
0115660707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,525 Restaurants in Turin
Price range: $32 - $129
Neighborhood: Centro
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Fantastic fast service with lots of choice made easy to cover the amazing range of goodies. Dining outside an option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    98
    26
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The friendliest chocolaterie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Just went there couple hours ago and the word disappointed is not in our dictionary. The lady at the counter was very kind to allow us tasting several chocolates before finally deciding which chocolate we want to buy.

We ended up staying half hour only to taste different kind of their famous giandoutti, cremelin, last but not least their ganache. And when we finally bought it (more than what we have planned of course), she packed our chocolate in a very thoughtful package (in a small cool bag with the packed dry ice inside). I have been to many chocolaterie in the Europe and i have to mention this is the best and the friendliest chocolate shop ever! And we are now planning to go there again tomorroe morning for the bicherin and their hot chocolate for breakfast before we leave Turin.

Definitely the highlight of our trip!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It's chocolate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have to mention first that we did not sit down really, we just came here to buy the famous chocolate. I bought huge chunks of the white and milk chocolate with nuts. (Mind that the bars are much thicker than a normal chocolate bar, so when you want to buy a small amount you really need to tell them to break off a very small piece.)
The place was friendly and the chocolate wa expensive. Was it worth it? Well, honestly - no. It's always embarassing, having bought something at a huge price, to then admit it wasn't worth it - but to me the chocolate was far from special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Superb Chocolate, really superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

As we really like chocolate we had read up before we got to Turin and had decided this shop was a must visit.

It is a wonderful shop, the waft of cocoa and spice wafts on the air to tempt you.

We bought a large box of mixed chocolates and a 150g box of Guido Gobino Giandujotto Maximo Cioccolato Gianduja. The 150g box is currently being savoured, the chocolate is the sort that just melts on tongue releasing all wonderful flavours and with a lovely texture as well.

The service was a little bit of a let down. Given their pricing I would have hoped for attentive service but instead there were two disinterested staff, a shame really.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were so looking forward to getting to Turin and trying some of this famous chocolate, hot chocolate and bicerin.

What better place to go.

Well, the service ain't great. Bicerin is vile. The hot chocolate is ok, NOTHING SPECIAL.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GUIDO GOBINO also viewed

 

Been to GUIDO GOBINO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GUIDO GOBINO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.