We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic trattoria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dai Saletta

Dai Saletta
Via Belfiore 37, Turin, Italy (San Salvario)
011-668-7867
Improve this listing
Ranked #410 of 2,497 Restaurants in Turin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Salvario
Grisons
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic trattoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

We came here on the recommendation of the Best Western hotel nearby and were delighted by the choice. Very good antipasti, especially the vitello tonnato, my wife had the brasato (house speciality) - perfect, and I enjoyed a very abundant trippa in umido, peppery and succulent. Our grandson chose the ravioli del plin and finished a large portion with gusto. A good Barbera for 12€, friendly and informative service, and a bill of just €85 for the 3 of us. What could be better?

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    97
    28
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
673 reviews 673 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Good place for local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This restaurant is a 5 minute walk from Best Western Pkus where we are staying. The hitel has a list of restaurants that they recommend and Dai Saletta is on it.

To start, we had a plate of mixed local specialties, boiled meat with a mustard sauce, raw meat with Parmesan cheese, a local potato salad, a local soft white cheese with a red sauce, bell peppers with anchovies and beans. What a nice way to start the meal. My husband had beef cooked in Barolo wine. I had veal with hazelnut sauce. Both dishes were tender and tasty. The house wine was very good. We were told that it was a barbera wine. The bill was 60 Euros which we found very reasonable.

Servic was pleasant. The place looks very new and very cheat. We enjoyed our meal here.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“very good local dishes, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Parking: should look in the street, may be not easy, in walking distance from Best Western in via Nizza
Ambience: Nice, warm, suitable for a date or business
Food quality: Very good, they do local dishes, the zabaione I took at the end was wonderful
Food quantity: Very good
Food presentation: Very good
Time waited for order/food: Very good
Cleanliness: Excellent
Service: Very good
Kids entertainement: not present
Bathroom: Not used
Price: Fair

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by one of the locals when we asked for a typical restaurant of the region that was not a rip off and we were not disappointed. This was an excellent little find and if you live in Turin or are just visiting you really should put it on your list. Restaurant seems to be family run and staff are very friendly and helpful, I asked our waiter for a wine recommendation thinking he would probably lead me to a 70 Euro bottle but no, he suggested we should try one of the local wines at 12 Euros and what a great choice it was. As mentioned before service was excellent but also the food was first class and one can only assume home made, we had a very enjoyable meal in nice traditional Piedmont hospitality and ambiance and were served complimentary lemonchello to end the evening. Not the most attractive restaurant from the outside and no outside dining but still well worth the visit and great value for money

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“For meat lovers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is a good restaurant for Piemont cuisine but do not expect any greens unless the two side orders and not even a simple salad. Starters (4 options only 1 with cheese and vegetables), 1st dish (6 pasta with meat, 1 pasta with cheese and 1 pasta with mushrooms) and 2nd dish (5 all with meat). It would be a good idea to include in the menu some green recipes of this Italian regional cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dai Saletta also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Dai Saletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai Saletta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.