We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly female staff, everything else - awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Original

Save Saved
You added Hotel Original to your Saves list
Hotel Original
Hotel Original
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Original
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arturo Farinelli 4, 10135 Turin, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 129 hotels in Turin
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly female staff, everything else - awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are staying at this hotel for the World Master Games. The rate posted on the road is 37-47 Euros. Our team is paying a range of 57 to 180 Euros depending when they booked. The air conditioning works in two rooms - the ones with terraces. We moved last night to the one with air conditioning which helps The older gentleman that works here - manager? - is a miserable man. The ladies that work here - desk and cleaning are very very nice and helpful as they can be. Every day, one of the team moves out to a different hotel - we will as well if more move as its all about the social aspect for this trip and being with the team.

Room Tip: If you are staying here definitely book one of the two rooms with a terrace. Ask them to give you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here on a Roadtrip from Switzerland, this hotel is in a location out of the way from anything however has a great tram link just outside which takes you into the centre. (tickets are EUR1 from the shop across the road)
We stayed here march 2013, the hotel has everything you need but is not perfect....if you just need a bed and a shower then it is perfect, it was perfect for us to just sleep wash and leave which is all we needed.
If you was planning a nice romantic night here i wouldnt as it is a little shabby and old fashioned but no complains from me.

I would stop here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here on our motorcycle tour ending up in Turin. This hotel is perfectly placed near the very cheap tram which takes you straight into Turin. There is a wonderful bar and restaurant close by who have menus in English (once they've seen you trying to understand the Italian version) and a marvellous multi choice ice cream parlour next door. We wanted to book this year but could not get in - already full. Book early its marvellous.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

the good:
+ staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room on the first night was too noisy, upon our request, they moved us to a very quiet room. Make sure you ask a room that does not see the street
+ it's very clean, no problems whatsoever
+ you can park your car in the garden. That costs 5 euro extra per day, we found it ok. Street parking is free also, but space might be limited. You can leave your car in the garden even after checkout, they don't make a problem out of it.
+ free fast internet connection

The bad:
- the breakfast is pretty basic (I am not sure if this is how Italians have breakfast). A sweet brioch (jam or chocolate) and some cheap fruit yoghurt, that's it. Coffee is not very good either
- it is not very close to the center, i would say about 7-8 km. You can take tram 4, it will take around 20 minutes to reach via Garibaldi. Tickets cost 1 euro per person and can be bought from tobacco shops (they close early, and supermarkets don't sell these tickets, so make sure you get one for the way back as well!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Quite a quirky hotel - with mirrored headboards rather than your standard style. My room was painted gold on the walls which gave it a style all its own! Sadly the air con didn't work nor was there any hot water for the entire duration of my stay - and I ened up having to borrow a work colleague's room to have a shower. The hotel is also situated on a main road right next to a bus stop - which makes packing ear plugs an absolute essential. That being said, it was cheap and cheerful - the roms were clean and generally well maintained and the family friendly. The biggest drawback was the distance from the city centre - approx 20 euros by taxi!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balestrate
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

I decided to book a room in this hotel based on reviews found on internet. I must say that I was happy to use the possibility to be picked up from the airport, by one of the staff members, for a good price, lower than a taxi. The room was big enough, clean and silent. The owner are an extremely warm family, very helpfull and nice. I had a wonderful time in the hotel and Torino is a beautiful city to visit.

  • Liked — The warm welcome
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

The hotel appears to be family run and they were friendly and helpful to a fault. The decor is wonderfully kitch and the breakfast was the best presented (and at 2euros a bargain) we had in a 3 week stop in Southern Europe.

So why the poor review: well, there was a cockroach in the bathroom. Just the one, but that was enough. To my discredit I didn't report it to the management, but it put me off the whole stay. As my partner pointed out though, this is quite common in August in a hot mediteranian country. All the same....

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Original

Address: Via Arturo Farinelli 4, 10135 Turin, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 129 hotels in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Original 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original Hotel Turin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Original, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.