We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place we shall never forget...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta to your Saves list
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Piazza Motta, 42, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place we shall never forget...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We were advised to stay here by our wedding co-ordinator and thought we would give it a go. We stayed a total of 5 blissful nights whilst we got married at Castello di Miasino. The staff, especially Barbara and her mother were fantastic with all our family and friends. The hotel itself is beautiful, set on Lago d'Orta and the food is fantastic. Some of the comments on here make me mad as you get out of life what you put into it and if you try communicating with the locals you will find that they are the most accommodating people you will find. The family went that extra mile for us and gave us 2 x bottles of bubbly to drink with our wedding cake the day after our wedding. Our room was fabulous, we wanted the deluxe suite for our special occassion but the standard and deluxe rooms were also very beautiful - so much so that we shall be returning. The prices compared to San Rocco/Crespi are fantastic and Lake Orta itself is a beautiful magical place and not at all commercialised. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    18
    14
    18
See reviews for
24
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

The staff was without a doubt the rudest group of people I have ever met in any country. They were insulting on on several occasions and in front of the entire resturant on one occasion. The staff acted as though they were doing everyone a favor to be there. When there were no towels in the filthy restroom, my husband picked up a table napkin on his way back to the dinner table. One of the waiters approached him and, in front of the entire establishment , snatched the towel from his hands and started yelling, saying the napkin was not for him but for dinner guests. Needless to say, we left without eating dinner.

Rude, rude rude!!! I do not know here this hotel got it's rating. The hotel was not clean and the food was barely edible. We left the hotel and moved to another location due the poor standards and management of this hotel and resturant.

Do NOT stay or eat there no matter what the rates! Go to the hotel across the plaza which has courteous and helpful staff.

  • Liked — The location on the lake was fabulous!
  • Disliked — Rude staff!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orta San Giulio hotels

limerick,ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We are just back from a wedding in Orta and most of the party stayed at The Leon d'Oro,taking up the majority of the hotel.I didnt hear a word of complaint from anyone apart from the sullen reception you get at breakfast but we all had a giggle about the looks you got when you ordered a second cappucino!They dont meen to be rude, its just their manner!The rooms were small but lovely with a great shower and towelling robes,slippers, gels etc... all laid on!  We ate in a number of good resteraunts like Olina,Venus and accross in the small town of Pella but the best welcome we got was from Sandro and his lovely partner in the wine bar opposite the hotel!We had the reception at the Villa Crespie ,where the food and setting was devine!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sometimes sullen service
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Let me say that my experience with Leon D'oro was terrible from the get go. They required a cash deposit ( for some reason they did not accept credit cards as deposits) and took a 30% cash deposit in the form of a bank wire transfer only. This is not typically of hotel reservations under normal cirsumstances. This bank wire transfer cost us an additional $35 in transfer fees in the US and we were also charged by the hotel for their bank wire transfer fees of EU 18.

The accomodations were standard and clean. I cannot write otherwise or write against the hotel itself. The placement of the hotel and view are fine.

Unfortunately, I have never encountered such impoliteness towards guests as I have at theHotel Leon D Oro. The front desk staff was rude, short with us, and not very helpful to say the least. We only asked for baggage handling to depart and were told that we did not pay enough for the room to warrent help!!

Orta is a lovely peaceful town and to have our experience in this quaint village ruined by rudeness was not the experienced we had hoped for.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the rude staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

This is a lovely hotel right on the waterfront facing the Isola San Giulio and was nearly a perfect stay. The rooms are very small but beautifully decorated and top quality fittings and the shower was brand new and ultra-sytlish. Only surprise was the blanket on the bed under the eiderdown looked like it had been around since 1975- out of keeping with the rest of the room in terms of quality- and also at least one of the bath towels had a hole in it and been mended at least once before. The rooms on the first floor all had french windows that opened out onto a communal terrace that goes all araound the building and faces onto the lake and the wonderful views. Airconditioning was very effective and very quiet.
The thing that spoiled this visit a bit and demoted it from being Excellent, was the attitude of the staff. they have an a manner that cannot be described as rude as such but is not warm and friendly, and as this is a family run hotel, it seems to permeate from the top down. They just do not seem to like people very much. We had a problem at the car park in town, which really happened because we were not given clear instructions by the receptionist, and the owners daughter had to come and sort it out. She barely acknowleged us even though we apologised and tried to engage her in a bit of friendly chat . Basically I think they have lost the perception of customer service and I really felt like they were doing us a massive favour

  • Liked — The location and views and general quality
  • Disliked — Lack of friendliness in the staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Hotel is in great location, right off town square. Room was small, however we had direct access to the balcony. Beautiful views from the room. Nice place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast was fantastic - good selection of cheese, meat, cereal, bread. Sometimes they serve left over torta. Restaurant is good, but service can be slow at times. We enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed for only three nights here but wish we could have stayed longer. It is a wonderful little town. Very peaceful and quiet. Of course, we were staying during off season.

The hotel itself is charming. It has a quirky lobby with the TV on all the time, but the rooms are lovely. We stayed in the Jr Suite which is the corner upstairs unit and has views of the lakefront as well as the island. I've put pictures up as well. The breakfast was very nice and their restaurant for dinner is very good - one of the best places in town. It's a small town so there is not a lot to choose from but we liked every place we ate.

Mario helped us a great deal while we were there. He gave us information about the area as well as the kind of grappa to buy. Plus we just enjoyed talking with him.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Great location and views
  • Disliked — No internet - but maybe that's a good thing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta

Address: Piazza Motta, 42, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leon d Oro Orta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.