We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In heart of old town, charming but a bit hard to get to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aracoeli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aracoeli to your Saves list
Hotel Aracoeli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mario Motta 34, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
SAN FRANCISCO
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“In heart of old town, charming but a bit hard to get to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Pros:
+Awesome location in heart of old town San Giulio
+Awesome breakfast with local flavors
+Weird but contemporary rooms (with weird showers and Ikea furnitures)
+Elevator !
+Cool breakfast room
+Friendly staff
+Clean and new B&B

Cons:
- Location in old town means no parking. Driving and parking into old town is a real hassle, making loading / unloading bags difficult
- Hotel in old town... so be prepared to wake up early as it gets noisy quickly (garbage trucks, deliveries...)
- Check in is NOT in the same building as hotel, it's down the street and you have to find it
- Funky decor not for everyone (we liked it)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Our family of four stayed 2 nights in Hotel Aracoeli in April and we wished we could have stayed longer. The town itself is charming, a real hidden gem. In fact I'm torn between telling everyone this but this is the best lake town. Lake Como and Lake Maggiore are big, noisy and cater for the tourist. If your after a small quiet town with loads of Italian charm then San Giulio is for you. Hotel Aracoeli on the outside blends perfectly with the town but on the inside you will find a funky, cool little place with well thought out rooms. We stayed on the top floor (a room with a view) with beds on the floor. Windows opened to a view of the town square and a view of the lake. The showers were brilliant - two big double showers with opal stone heads. It not only looked good but worked a treat. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was superb. The hotel also has a restaurant further up the street which served seasonal Italian fresh food - it was so good we ate there both nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this magical little lake town. It's not often we aim to go back to the same place as we like to experience new things but with this town and hotel I think we will be making the exception.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Hotel very comfortable. Great position.Minimalist rooms. Fantastic breakfast!
Reccomended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Right in the piazza. Terrific, hard working staff. Room is terrific.
The staff also work at an excellent restaurant a few blocks away.
Loved my stay in Lago d'Orta.
Excellent value for the lake region.
Great if you are a cyclist.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Just back from a 3 night stay at the hotel at the end of Nov and early Dec. It's a nice, ultra modern, funky type of place. The furniture is Ikea style. There's no cupboard for clothes, just a hanger rack, which was sufficient. There's a tiny fridge, a kettle, some cups and coffee/tea bags. Everything about the hotel was a bit quirky. The only thing we didn't like was the shower, which was a corner of the room that was separated with a glass panel. As the sides were not covered, parts of the cement floor got wet whenever you took a bath and that was a bit annoying (more so in winter when the floor is freezing cold).

We stayed in room 706, which had a balcony overlooking the lake (not the island) and the square. We doubt that any of the rooms had a view of the island because of the buildings in front of the hotel but we could be wrong. The room wasn't exactly quiet because we could hear people walking around upstairs. The hotel had a lift.

It was off-season and the shops and restaurants were hardly opened. That could be one reason why the chambermaid had forgotten to clean our room on the final night. HOWEVER, the staff were very helpful. Eliana, who was on duty that day, actually got us fresh towels etc and offered to move us into the next room for the night. On the last day, one of the staff drove us to the train station. The hotel reception is a 5-minute walk away from the main hotel building, housed in a tiny corner shop but you can ring them if there's anything urgent. It's not a 24 hour reception. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Very funky modern hotel right on the main square in Orta San Giulio (which is a gorgeous little town). We stayed in the suite on the top floor which had great views over the lake, out to the island and down onto the square below. The beds were very comfy but it was the showers that were really something else! A glass screen along one side of the room separated off the two amazing showers where water gushed out of rocks and included an in shower water fall!
The buffet breakfast is also worthy of a comment in that I don't think i've ever had quite so much choice of yummy breakfast options before!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Very nicely located hotel in the centre of Orta. We had a room with a terrace and a beautiful view. The rooms are individually designed. Breakfast buffet was excellent too! Only a wireless internet access was missing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aracoeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aracoeli

Address: Piazza Mario Motta 34, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aracoeli 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aracoeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aracoeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.