We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Church/convent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Giulio Island

San Giulio Island
Orta San Giulio, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Church/convent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The island is very small and very walkable. The history of this place is fascinating. You can sense how old it is. It is a short ride from the town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    135
    28
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go early and enjoy the way of silence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Although in Orta San Giulio in September there were still plenty of people about including tour parties, so the best way to enjoy this enchanting little island is to go as early as the ferrymen will take you. That way you can fully appreciate 'la via del silenzio' and 'listen to the waves, the wind, your steps'. A short way, certainly, but we made it a daily walk and a daily visit to the beautiful basilica. This church with its frescoes is a place of serenity and wonder ... again, just get there early.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Magical, peaceful island on Lago d'Orta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This delightful island is a short ferry ride from the embarcadero in the town of Orta San Giulio's main square... the views looking back at the town and the Sacro Monte above it, and across and around the lake are quite superb.

There is an easy walk around the island, passed the many historic buildings, houses and gardens hidden behind ancient walls, with glimpses of the lake every few yards - it only takes about half an hour (with photo stops).

Above all this is a place of total tranquillity - no cars, just one souvenir-cum-antiques shop, one cafe restaurant (it was unfortunately closed on the day we visited) and a monastery and fine church. Boring for some, maybe - to me it was heaven!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - and SO peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you enjoy the picturesque town of Ora San Giulio, then you simply mustn't go away without taking a short boat trip to the island in the middle of the lake.

Maybe we struck lucky by visiting in mid September, but when my wife and I visited the island we shared it with just a small handful of other tourists. Under those circumstances, the island almost redefines the word 'peaceful'; on a few occasions we felt we had the whole place to ourselves, to the extent that we could almost 'hear the silence'. A wonderful and charming interlude in a wholly-satisfying day on Lake Orta. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overrated but tranquil”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not a lot to see on this doubtlessly peaceful and tranquil island. A subdued walk around takes about 10-15 minutes....barely worth the boat trip unless it's solitude you're after.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Giulio Island also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to San Giulio Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Giulio Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.