We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis after a day of touring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cucchiaio di Legno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Cucchiaio di Legno to your Saves list
Il Cucchiaio di Legno
Via Prisciola, 10, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Lecco, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An oasis after a day of touring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Although it's right across from the railway (about 50 meters or so), the rooms are well-insulated enough so that any trains passing through become just an afterthought. What I appreciated most was the modern-style interior decoration (Ikea!) which lent a feeling of clean and uncluttered space to this agriturismo. Excellent serve-your-own continental-style breakfast in a bright and cheerful room. Great staff that will help you with any info about the area. We were so pleased with our stay that we made a request to add on another day but unfortunately they were fully booked. I would highly recommend Il Cucchiaio di Legno to anyone looking for lodging in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Friendly staff. Good location. Within walking distTaste lay breakfast. Hotel was brand new and clean. Comfy king sized bed and new bathroom. Definitely recommend. Home made condiments at breakfast was a nice touch. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know lago di Orta and it was a great find- such a peaceful, pretty and underappreciated spot. The Cucchiaio di legno was a bit the same; pleasant, quiet, and very friendly. The rooms are large, modern, and very comfortable. Breakfast is super, and the girls at the reception very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed with wife for a long weekend early May , opened in March 13 so place was immaculate.Staff were very helpful . Plenty of ample car parking , breakfast was typical Italian - suited my wife ( who is Italian ) . Room was lovely and included a small veranda. Orta is approx 20 mins walk away , walking saves you the €2 per hour car parking charge if you park on the edge of Orta. The hotel is close to Orta railway station , I think you can get to Novara from here. We flew into Bergamo (Ryanair) , the drive takes ~ 2 hours when quiet , allow more time at rush hour .We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We found this place by accident and were so glad we did, it is above town, which gives it great views. Brand new, beautiful huge room with a great shower, large private balcony. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, free coffee and tea all day. Wish we could stay longer. Check out the restaurant next door too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake with the big balcony (#7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson NV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We loved this new property on Lake Orta. The staff/owners were extremely accommodating and the breakfast was fabulous with a different homemade pastery every day. We liked it so much that we stayed another day. Bed was comfortable and shower was refreshing. There was a large balcony to take in the beautiful scenery. Location was a little away from the tourist hub-bub but close enough for lots of touristy things to do. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We loved the larger double room with big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Cucchiaio di Legno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cucchiaio di Legno

Address: Via Prisciola, 10, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Cucchiaio di Legno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cucchiaio di Legno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.