We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel closed ades ago” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orta

Hotel Orta
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orta San Giulio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Orta
Piazza Motta 1, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Orta San Giulio
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“This Hotel closed ades ago”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel shut down and is empty now, Orta is a fantastic place but blighted by overpricing by hotels and restaurants, The apartment rental side is worth looking into as fantastic supermarkets 15 mins drive away and there are one or two good places to eat for a treat,

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Yes, the view and the location on the lake are unsurpassed - unfortunately the view from inside the room out the french doored balcony is very narrow, and you have to actually get up and peer out to see anything-but it's worth getting up.
This hotel needs a complete overhaul, to bring it into (even the 1990's would be good) the 21st century.
But, if the details are not so important, again the situation and the price make up for the dowdy decor. There really are not many choices in Orta, and the food was good, compared to some of the restaurants in the town.
Overall, a pleasant, but amusing stay.

  • Liked — the location on the piazza and the lake
  • Disliked — dowdy decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

I'm writing this review 4 years after we visited so the detail is lacking and there may have been changes to the decor.

We stayed in a room with a view of the lake. The view is spectacular and that in itself makes the hotel worthy of a visit. The bells from the church on the island start at about 7am every morning and carry on throughout the day so don't expect a lie in.

The area was fairly quiet in June although I can imagine it would be much busier in August.

To get to the hotel we had a hire car and the road that you have to drive up to the hotel is very narrow and not one way so you just have to hope nothing comes the other way. It would be very difficult to reverse because of all the pedestrians using the same narrow road. You are only allowed to drive up to the hotel to unload on arrival and reload on departure so it isn't too much of an issue. You have to use local car parks inbetween.

The area is fairly hilly so not suitable for anyone with limited mobility. I was 6 months pregnant at the time and found navigating the area quite difficult on foot.

We had a lovely time so would love to go back again when the children are older.

  • Liked — The views from the balcony
  • Disliked — The decor was tired
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

This hotel has seen much better days. In spite of its wonderful location on the lakeshore directly opposite S. Gulio Island, it has now degenerated into a shadow of what it once must have been. It is now faded and inefficiently run, while the dinner was quite terrible.

What incensed us, however, was that we booked on condition that we could have an early breakfast at 7:00am but woke to find everything tightly shut up. I couldn't even get out of the front door which I considerd constituted a major fire hazard. We eventually managed to leave through the kitchens without having the breaskfast we had paid for in advance. When I telephoned later to complain, they just insulted me.

It's such a shame, it could be really good.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orta San Giulio hotels

Earlysville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

... the Hotel Orta could stand a refurbishing! I hesitated writing anything too terribly negative about the hotel because it has three very positive things going for it: a beautiful lakefront location on the town's main piazza; a charming, multilingual and helpful staff; and (if you have a lakefront room, a few euros extra) a view of the lake and island that is positively breathtaking. The exterior of the hotel is lovely and has an old-world charm, but when my husband and I opened the door to our room we simply looked at each other in amazement. The room featured a thin brown indoor/outdoor carpeting and the furniture was a boxy "blonde wood" plastic laminate. Plastic flower arrangments in the halls and common areas looked, well ... plastic, and dusty to boot. Ouch! This hotel has so much potential but it is clear that the management has opted for "durable" with its furnishings. We had a tiny problem returning to our room late in the afternoon when we found ourselves without a scrap of toilet paper. This was, however, quickly remedied by the staff, and aside from the spartan decor, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. The hotel's dining room was average but, again, the view was amazing and seemed to over-ride so many things. All in all, the Hotel Orta is a good value in a little town that is positively magical.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Spartan, plastic furniture
  • Tips/Secrets — Spring for a lakefront room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2004

We stayed there in 2001 in late September and enjoyed it very much, especially because of the location right on the town square but also right on the waterfront. Our room had a huge terrace facing the lake and island. The hotel is family run and the staff is very friendly.
Downsides might include the lack of airconditioning, some quirky room layouts, and short beds (my feet needed to hang off the end and I'm only 5' 11"). We were also required to take half board but the food was only average despite some outstanding restaurants right in town. We did not hesistate to skip out on the dinner anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Orta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orta

Address: Piazza Motta 1, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Orta San Giulio
Also Known As:
Orta Hotel San Giulio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Orta to your Saves list