We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Leon D'Oro

Ristorante Leon D'Oro
Piazza Motta, 42, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
+39 0322911991
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We all ordered the local fish, which was delicious and well-prepared. While the food is good, the atmosphere is what makes this a "go to" restaurant in Orta San Giulio. The outdoor terrace is canopied by grape vines so thick the rain doesn't come through.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    65
    31
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“amazing quail risotto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great view sitting right by the lake - watching the moon rise behind you over the hill.

We had the best dish here of our entire trip: risotto with quail and quail eggs. Great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Terrace right on the lake.
We did not know it was possible to get such poor food in Italy.
Precooked re-heated meat served with frozen chips!

.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great combo of good food and world-class view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

So frequently restaurants with world-class views are content to let their tables be filled by the allure of the scenery, rather than the food. Leon d'Oro does not rest on their view -- and a stunning view it is: lakeside on spectacular and romantic Lake Orta, with a perfect sunset view of picturesque Isola d'Orta. Water taxis and local fisherman ply the waters offshore, while ducks feed just beneath you.

But one is in Italy for the food and d'Oro does not disappoint. In particular, the risotto with quail and quail eggs was one of the best dishes we had in nearly a month in Italy. The service is good, the prices reasonable.

Reserve earlier in the day for a lake-side table. We spent three nights in Orta San Giulio and ate here two of them!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice view, and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I had lunch here with my family, I ordered a degustation menû which is, in my opinion, the best choice, because for 30€ you get a starter, two main courses and a dessert. The service was fast and the food was very tasty and nice :)
It's not very cheap, but if you decide to spend around 25-30€ per person you'll leave with your stomach full :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Leon D'Oro also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Ristorante Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Leon D'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.