We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wine bar around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Boeuc

Al Boeuc
Via Bersani, 28, Orta San Giulio, Italy
339 5840039
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best wine bar around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went almost every night for a pre-dinner drink. Great service and selection of wines. Excellent nibbles!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    104
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allerød, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Orta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very good local cheeses, etc. And the wine was excellent. In addition, it was to a VERY good price: en general only 35-40 euro for two persons incl. (lots of) wine :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Different but Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We ate here twice and on both occassions we thought the experience was excellent. Tables laid outside in a very narrow alley way. Dishes to share between two e.g. Italian sausages in Barolo wine. Value for money. Staff and owner very friendly, polite and cheerful

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic old-world Enoteca.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited twice during our stay for apertivo. Wonderful service, especially when we were repeat customers. Fine regional wine offerings...including many rare and hard to find selections. If I could design a wine room of my own, it would look just like this!!! (If only I had the staff/owner there as well)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A secret rendezvous...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

...in this small hole-in-the-wall location. Tucked away in a narrow passageway, Al Boeuc is the kind of place to get away from large, noisy crowds in the piazza for a little r&r. Great by-the-glass choices for wine; wonderful platter of mixed cured meats and cheese. We sat inside where the interior is rather dimly-lit and has dark wooden tables squeezed together, but that just added to the intimate atmosphere. At night they set up several tables outside to accommodate more people. Certainly worth a repeat visit just for the ambience alone. Little doggies allowed inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Boeuc also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Al Boeuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Boeuc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.