We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleased to have a nice meal upon arrival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castello Lounge & Restaurant

Hotel Castello Lounge & Restaurant
Via G. Testa, 47, 14100 Asti, Italy
+39 0141351094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 234 Restaurants in Asti
Price range: $37 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Bistro, Oyster Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“pleased to have a nice meal upon arrival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

After a long day traveling to Asti, and arriving late we weren't up for trying to find a restaurant that was still serving. Fortunately the hotel restaurant turned out to be surprisingly good. Because it was late the kitchen was about to close but were willing to prepare us a nice salad and a plate of crudo, and a nice bottle of wine. It was perfect light meal to eat out on the lovely patio after a week of fine dining in France. We had only a short stay and didn't have a chance to dine again but based on the simple fare done so well I'm sure the reviews are justified.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    18
    12
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
831 reviews 831 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A very nice restaurant in the hotel we were stayed. They serve a wonderful and very fresh breakfast and some great meals for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent restaurant by the hotel Castello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had several meals during my stay in Asti at the hotel Castello. Very friendly service, excellent wines and had the best vitello tonato ever. Would defenately suggest this restaurant with nice interior and adorable terrace in the front. Well kept and stylish touch in settings. 10+

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well worth a second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had seen some reviews of this restaurant on Trip Advisor so felt we wanted to try it out. We were not disappointed. We went on a very wet Thursday evening feeling slightly depressed with the weather but as soon as we went inside the restaurant we felt much better as we were greeted warmly and made to feel welcome. We like Piemontese food very much but sometimes it is nice to try something just a little bit different and this menu had just that. We had more or less decided what we were going to eat but were then faced with a choice of specials for that evening (apparently every evening there are specials to choose from) that made it a little more difficult to choose. I had the duck carpaccio which was excellent and my husband had octopus with artichokes , for primi we shared sphaghetti with sea food ragu and for secondi we both had fish. This restaurant has a Piemonte and Sicilian influence which works very well. The staff are very friendly and enthusiastic about what they are serving and I can't wait to go back next month when we will be in Italy again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very good restaurant in Asti, a bit further away from the central shopping area but still worth it. We had a very nice menu including wine for € 10.- Service is impeccable. Not many tables inside, so best is not going at rushour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Castello Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

 
Asti, Province of Asti
 

Been to Hotel Castello Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castello Lounge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.