We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Da Nonna Carla!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of da Nonna Carla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added da Nonna Carla to your Saves list
da Nonna Carla
Via Vittorio Emanuele 11 | Alfiano Natta loc.Sanico, Asti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Asti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We love Da Nonna Carla!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Da Nonna Carla last year and enjoyed it so much we returned this year! The rooms are lovely—spacious, nicely appointed, clean. The host, Paolo, is friendly, helpful, companionable, while not overbearing. And the food is delicious, both the delicious breakfast spread (with coffee and eggs to order) and the don’t-miss dinners. You’ll need a car, as Alfiano Natta (Sanico) is out in the sticks, but the quiet and comfort make it well worth the drive.

This visit, we held a family dinner at Da Nonna Carla, a Sunday afternoon sit-down for 20, and it was tasty, comfortable, and great fun! Paolo ensured that details were handled, so that we could relax and enjoy.

We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms upstairs. Each was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    43
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
125
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we received a very warm welcome on a cloudy and rainy Sunday and the kitchen was open only for us! the food is delicious and home made! Paolo is a great host! He gave us very practical advices to go around before dark as the bad weather had interrupted all our plans! My husband is a fan of the wine so we even got time to have a wee chat with Paolo about his wine and area wine productions as that is the week for vendemmia from Paolos vineyard! Besides their fantastic hospitality, the home made tipical locale wine and food, the clean room and big and 2 meter long bed you could find it is also easy to move around to reach some other nice places within 20 mins drive! We are not talking about 4 star holiday resort so there are things you wont find here like wi fi or hair dryer. But if you would find this is a genuine country home run by a family and treat you like a family. we had a wonderful and relaxing time. We arrived home in milan with 8 bottles of barbera wines and Paolos home made jam!! yammmy! Yi e Francesco

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you are looking for a B&B in rural northern Italy, way in the country, far from anywhere, but not too far off the autostrade, this is a great find. Our 2 week trip in northern Italy in late October 2012 included popular big cities. This rural location was a nice contrast, and the least expensive. Paolo is a wonderful host. He apologizes for his English, but he doesn't need to; it's great. He is proud his establishment, and he should be. When we asked how old the place is, he responded, "Not very old; only about 125 years." My husband and I, Americans, laughed, because in our world, 125 years old is ancient. Paolo's assistant Giusi (short for Giusipina (spelling??) ) is a delight. We spoke our limited Italian with her and she took great care of us at breakfast. Her homemand bread and apricot jam are delicious. Paolo grows his own grapes, which his neighbors make into wine, and which he offers guests at a very reasonable price. He serves ravioli made by his relatives.

The room we were given was large by any standards, beautifully furnished with antiques. The bathroom was the largest we experienced on our trip. Bring your own shampoo. The only toiletry was a big bottle of very fine hand soap. We elected to have dinner provided for us for our first night. That was a good decision for several reasons: the food was excellent; the fee was reasonable; and the nearest restaurant would have been a hike, as there were no restaurants in the town.

I found da Nonna Carla on an internet search looking for lodging near Asti. If you don't have a navigation system, finding your way to da Nonna Carla the first time is a challenge. We quickly learned when we arrived at the tourist office in Asti that Asti is not just a city (like Venice or Milan). It is a region. North, about 35 minutes by car, is the section of Alfiano Natta, and in that section, is the tiny town of Sanica. We learned this after the tourist office worker in Asti phoned the number we had for da Nonna Carla. We found our way to the municipal building in Alfiano Natta, and a worker drew us a map of where he thought da Nonna Carla was. A local person a short distance away drew us another map, of a monument in Sanica, which is next to the house. I'm glad we were traveling in day light, during normal business hours, and I'm glad I knew rudimentary Italian, like left, right, straight. Mostly, I'm glad for helpful Italians. Once we had our bearings, traveling in the region was easy.

We enjoyed our stay at da Nonna Carla. It was worth the adventure, and the surrounding countryside was some of the most beautiful we saw in Italy. I would highly recommend this lodging.

Room Tip: Any room in this lodging would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. Paolo prepared great breakfasts and dinners that we thoroughly enjoyed. In fact, Paolo was so helpful in all ways. He even took us to a winery. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Big rooms, authentic interiors, great food, outstanding service, lively conversations (with Paolo & family). Will be back!

Room Tip: If travelling with kids, can get two rooms together (mini-apartment).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Quite a change from my busy life in the American city of las Vegas. ALFIANO NATTA Frazione of Sanico is such a beautiful little town. Rolling hills, the vineyards, the majestic hill tops with castles and churches in the distance. Very Medieval feel and just Beautiful!!!!
During my 3 month stay for work and pleasure, I fell in love with the Italian cuisine. The food at Carla's was wonderful. Carla's cooking was to look forward to as was Stefania's and their deserts were as sweet as they were. Paolo, Stefania's husband, was what I considered a gourmet chef and he had the charm and pride of a typical Italian. Their sincere love of all people is what made me fall in love with them and the Italian people as well as all of Northern Italy. Truly a wonderful, charming place to stay. One that I will never forget. Their two lovely children Silvia and Mateo visited now and then to help out with the chores I will miss them as well. My most memorable experience was being invited to "cut the grapes" with Paolo and Stefania at Stefania's family's Vineyard. Stefania's parents we so nice and hospitable. It was such an honor to help. I hope to do it again some day. I truly love them all and highly recommend the stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nv.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Our company in Las Vegas, Nevada sent a number of us to assist the start-up of a new plasterboard manufacturing plant near Asti. A co-worker recommended that I stay at da nonna Carla's because he was very pleased with the service. During my five month stay at da nonna Carla, it truly became my home away from home. Carla, Paulo and Stefania are such gracious hosts. They always made me feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are very clean and the meals they served us were fantastic.
You will not find more wonderful people or better service anywhere. I recommend this bed & breakfast to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to da Nonna Carla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Nonna Carla

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 11 | Alfiano Natta loc.Sanico, Asti, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandmother Carla's farmhouse Nonna Carla’s farmhouse is placed in Alfiano Natta, a few kilometres far from Moncalvo and Asti, 60 kilometres far from Turin.Cascina Ada is the typical Piedmontese farmhouse in a quiet village of Monferrato, with a welcoming and family atmosphere, ideal for a restful weekend, to discover the surrounding villages and wonderful panoramas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your da Nonna Carla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage da Nonna Carla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.