We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.Very helpful receptionist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Genius Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Genius Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Genius Downtown
via Porlezza 4, Angolo via Camperio, 20131 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location.Very helpful receptionist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Genius for one night in October.The room was clean and met our needs. The price for water,beer etc was lower than prices in the immediate area.The breakfast selection was good.
The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. ( All within a short walk)
When we checked in the receptionist was extremely helpful.The next day she excelled herself again when she helped us locate our Coach which we had booked to take us to Malpensa airport. The street is narrow and the coach driver had to park away from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    139
    63
    29
    27
See reviews for
51
117
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well situated and close to metro station.
general impression: cold (so-called modern design)
standard room: very small, was infested with mosquitos, but hotel provided repellent apparatus after first night. Very poor lighting in the room.
refurbishment works were going on, so maybe improvement is to be expected.
personnel was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

On the plus side, we received good service and the breakfast was good for an italian hotel. But I would never stay here again because of the millions of mosquitos in the room. In October! The multiple stains on the walls? Killed mosquitos...yuk. our rooms were nothing like the pictures on their web site, very disappointing. Old old old furniture, nasty bedding.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a quiet back street and is within easy walking distance from most of the attractions in Milan. Staff were very helpful. I was late for breakfast and they could not do more to make sure I had what I needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are traveling to Milan for business or pleasure you cannot go wrong staying at the Genius Hotel. The staff are great, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is near all the main areas of the city, easy to walk to. The manager is probably one of the nicest I met while traveling in Italy. You can't go wrong staying at the Genius Hotel Downtown Milan

Room Tip: I didn't find a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Verry good location, but most of other thigs are bad. Not worth the above 100 euro price. Hotel and room smells old and cigarette smoke. Really all walls have traces or dirt or unmatched superficial paintings in the room and on the hallways. Large charge for WiFi, common comodity nowadays. Flies on the breakfast food, lots of them.
Toilet is kind of moving ... no kidding :)

Room Tip: Location is excelent but overall charge more than 100 euro definetly does not woth it. Also the buea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this hotel ideal for its location about 15 mins walk with suitcases!!! to the Nth Cadorna Station for Malpensa Airport and with lots of restaurants etc very close , plus very easy walk to the main sights of the Duomo, Galleria and La Scala

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Genius Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genius Downtown

Address: via Porlezza 4, Angolo via Camperio, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in a great place. Walking distance of all major attractions and subway stop just around the corner together with the major shopping area of the city. Train connection to airport is only minutes away which make the Genius Hotel the best choice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Genius Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genius Downtown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Genius Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.