We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great break away from the cheese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taiwan

Taiwan
Via Adda 10, 20124 Milan, Italy
02-670 24 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,410 of 5,280 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great break away from the cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

after city hoping for 4 days eating great pizzas, spahgetti, raviolli, crostini, and its great to find a taiwanese restaurant. we ordered beef soup noodle, taiwan minced beef rice, and curry beef vegies. felt awesome. not to mention the food is aurhentic

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    73
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Authentic Taiwanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

You know you've found an authentic Taiwanese restaurant when the major part of the clientele are Asian. Such is the case with Taiwan. I've been coming here over the past 8 years whenever I am in Milan on business. Service is always attentive and prompt and the food is outstanding.

Taiwan offers many original and traditional Taiwanese delicacies on their menu, mixed in with some of the original Chinese dishes. I usually try to see what the other Asian guests are eating and I like to try that. Some of the round tables are fitted with "lazy-susans" which facilitates sharing dishes with a large table, such as is the tradition in some Asian countries.

The restaurant is nicely decorated with a huge Buda statue greeting you at the entrance. Taiwanese music can be softly heard over the restaurant's audio system. Sometimes, when ordering several different dishes, all were delivered to table at once. Be sure to tell the waiters to bring one dish at a time.

I've tried several different dishes and I've never been disappoint with any of these selections. I particularly like the Taiwanese Shrimp which are served on a large leaf of lettuce, which you roll up and eat. Very nice. All the soups have been excellent.

The local can be noisy at times but it all adds to the overall experience of dining in Taiwan while you're in Milan.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty but not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We are Taiwanese and while in Milan, we were in search of some home cooked authentic Taiwanese food. We didn't have high expectations since we were in Italy. The food was just ok. It's much better than the Chinese takeout that one would get and rather authentic. But it is not what one can expect in an average restaurant in Taiwan.

The service is good and people are nice. If you are craving for Chinese/Taiwanese food, I would definitely recommend it. But if you can wait till you get back home, I would suggest you wait.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent typical Taiwan food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Found it by chance while walking from nearby hotel. Great food, reasonable price and bigger portions than we get in other Italy's chinese restaurants. Taste is for asians palate... not westernised!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“The real deal for chinese food in Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This restaurant used to be my favourite asian place in Milan.. The atmosphere is no-nonsense like in every serious chinese eatery and everything is about the food.. Great choice of typical taiwanese dishes, very good prices and in most cases, cooked as they should be and not customized for western palates... Very recommended for every asian visiting Milan and missing the food at home.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taiwan also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Taiwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taiwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.