We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but expensive, and off hand waiters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savini

Savini
Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, 20121 Milan, Italy
(+39) 02 72 00 34 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,106 of 5,334 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Pub, Pizza & Pasta, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food, but expensive, and off hand waiters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Food quality and decor excellent, but we weren't made to feel welcome. Off hand waiters who obviously felt we weren't worthy to eat here, even though expensive, and we could have chosen much cheaper restaurants close by. .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    127
    53
    40
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best places I've ever been to. the food, the service, the atmosphere, the views are all spectacular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We travel and visit a lot of cities enjoying to eat in great locations. This was by far the worst meal we have had and €70 for a very average Chianti was outrageous! Dinner was basic fair and ok at best -service snooty lesson learnt looks aren't everything even in the fashion capital!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“€ 10,- for 1 cola”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Never eat here again!
We've paid € 10,- for 1 coca cola and € 8,- for a bottle of water............
We have eat 2 pizza's and 1 sandwich. The food was not good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I seems as though this used to be a great restaurant but they've realised they can lull tourists in with over-priced, under-quality food.

Aperitivo:
We ordered Bellinis, they were OK but cost €25 each.

Starters:
Described as fine dining, I decided to try the onion soup, the onions hadn't been caramelised properly and the soup had been put through the blender. My girlfriends salad was made with wilted leaves (€26) and the bread we'd been given to go with the meals had been provided with oil and balsamic vinegar but with no side plates!

Main:
We ordered the sirloin steak (€90) which had no discernible seasoning to it. Strangely, when we ordered it, it took the waiter three goes to understand that we wanted medium-rare rather than medium-well (which shouldn't even exist in fine dining). The meat was brought to the table and dished up in front of us, in principle this is supposed to impress, in reality, it was so amateurish we though we were in a Charlie Chaplin movie. The waiter began by hacking the meat up into chunks and then piling them onto the plate. Clearly the meat wasn't of a high enough quality to be able to slice it quickly and easily and in taking so long over it it was cold by the time we had a chance to eat anything. The vegetables were also cold and a mixture of over and under cooked.

After the experience with the rest of the food, we didn't risk a desert.

The wine was amazing - probably because the kitchen and waiting staff had little to no input into it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savini also viewed

 

Been to Savini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.