We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italien food. Not a pizza in site!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria di Porta Cicca

Osteria di Porta Cicca
Ripa di Porta Ticinese 51, 20100 Milan, Italy (Porta Ticinese)
028372763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #557 of 5,365 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $1 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Porta Ticinese
Perigueux, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Italien food. Not a pizza in site!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lovely small restaurant on the edge of the canal/ river in the south west area of Milan.We ate inside with the air conditioning, which was much appreciated as very hot outside & lots of mosquitos ( don't forget the repellant if you visit this area!)
The food was just wonderful, real Italian cuisine with beautiful presentation & lovely service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    131
    78
    45
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The worst food we had in Milan, out of the hundreds places we experienced. We came here because of the good reviews. Initially, we were pleased to be given a table without reservation. But quickly we understood why. None of the food was freshly prepared. All of it was greasy to the point of being revolting! Do not believe the positive reviews. No local would ever want to eat this food...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Exceptional Creative Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First, the house white wine (Chardonnay) was excellent. I appreciate the chef's creativity in the ingredients and techniques. For example, we had a appetizer where cucumber puree comes out frosty adding a very refreshing sensation. Definitely a great alternative from standard fare.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal and great night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this after seeing great reviews. Lovely setting on the banks of the canal. Decor in restaurant is tasteful and traditional. Service was excellent. Our waiter took time to explain the Italian menu in detail and made small changes to suit our taste. We had a great bottle of prosseco with our fish selection starters which as more like a main meal, followed by ravioli and risotto, both were very good. We would have loved to have dessert but just couldn't fit it in. Meal cost about 120 euros and was very nice. Would definitely recommend this place, fab experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Italian with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was my second time at osteria di porta cicca , I love this place for its warm interior decoration and the fusion twisted cuisine mixing Italian to French and oriental food style. fine wine selection, beautiful set up, but I preferred the menu of last year with the shrimp and lobster risotto that was canceled from the new one ,I prefer that they add some new things on their menu it’s a bit limited, the food is good fresh and tasty but somehow overpriced. Nevertheless I suggest giving a try once in ticinese area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria di Porta Cicca also viewed

 

Been to Osteria di Porta Cicca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria di Porta Cicca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.