We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and really friendly host!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malavoglia

Malavoglia
Via Lecco 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
02-29 53 13 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #835 of 5,363 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Chowder
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food and really friendly host!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really nice food, on the more expensive side but really nice for a night out, you have to try the Sicilian cheese cake!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    39
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a quiet environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I was looking for a very good seafood restaurant in Milan (there are many) where I could have a business discussion with some people. Usually it is a challenging thing because restaurants are noisy, but I Malavoglia was quiet and classy, the perfect place to discuss. Easy to reach because the metro station Porta Venezia is five minutes away, I was surpised by the quality of food. All of us got excellent fish and wine well advised by the maitre.
Not a cheap place, but definitely I'll return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Incredibly good sicilian food... for a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

If you want quality you have to pay for it.

This place is a reminder of the motto. Anyway, I don't give it a 5 dots not for the price (because, as I said quality have a cost) but for the traditional atmosphere (a little bit old-looking) that could give a wrong first impression, not helped by the lack of any "welcome appetizer".

But the food is REALLY top quality. I had a pasta con le sarde that could easily match any pasta I've eaten in Aeolian Islands, perfectly cooked, and a Tuna with radish that was oh-my-godish, it tasted almost sicily/japanese mix. It made my day. Nice cassata as dessert with sweet wine offered. Great choice of wines mostly from sicily also in small bottles with reasonable prices (I had an half a litre excellent white from Milazzo)

All this for 70 eur that I did not regret having spent.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant where the waiter won't let you pick the wrong thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Went to this restauarant for the first time and indeed truly excellent Sicilian style seafood. I understand that the owner waits on the tables and his wife cooks in the kitchen. Yes, just like other Italian restaurants, the waiter would not let me order something that he did not think I would like or would not perfectly complement the rest of my meal. Even to the point where he got upset that I did not put enough of the delicious horeseradish on my tuna and proceeded to demnonstrate to me how to do it. The desert canoli was also incredible. Great food and a staff that shows that great Italian passiion for entire expereince.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Sicilian Resutrant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a small and elegant resturant, very close to the center of Milan. The food is typical sicilian. I suggest to order fish meals. You have to try 'Pasta con le sarde' or one of the various meals based on sword ish and the incredible selection of typical sicilian dessert like cassata or cannoli. The selection of wines is accurate and the servcice is good.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malavoglia also viewed

 

Been to Malavoglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malavoglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.