We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and delicious meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Oca Giuliva

L'Oca Giuliva
Viale Bligny 29, Milan, Italy
02-58 31 28 71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,171 of 5,363 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
“Great service and delicious meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

Me and my hubby came to visit my hubby's sister in Milano. She took us in this restaurant that near by where she lives. We ordered cold cut plate, shrimp cocktail, 3 diffirent kind of pasta (which is delicious), red vine from house and at the end we ate Tiramisu. Everything was so delicious. Service is Real'e vaat and high quality. You should go there and try. Dont forvet to meet with Franco :))

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    132
    67
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My favorite authentic Italian on Milano !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I have lived in Milan for 3 years and have to say I was extremely disappointed with the so-called famous Italian cuisine... Until I tried L'Oca Giuliva! By far the best food, friendliest staff and nice atmosphere in Milan, in my opinion Would recommend it to anyone visiting Milan.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not recommended!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We booked for 09:00 PM, to celebrate an important birthday.
More people from different places came to the event.
After an hour we were basically kicked out because the room was full booked for a second night.
There wasn't communicated to the second reservation.
The staff was very rude.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Food OK, not particularly great, more welcoming to locals than tourists ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was a neighborhood restaurant that was very crowded. We thought it was a good sign because it was popular with locals. We were welcomed warmly but that was it -- they could not find us a menu in English, they sent us their sole English-speaking waiter who was cheerful and exuberant but ended up hustling us through our meal and misleading us with his translations.

For some reason he kept urging the "pasta with lobster" on us, when we demurred he took our orders. We asked for contorno choice (Mediterranean vegetables) to be served before our main dishes. When we ordered our main dishes (Sicilian sea bream and lamb chops respectively) he urged us to select additional contorni -- we did, thinking they were free. Not true, we were charged for the orders (not having a menu in English made us that helpless). The first contorno was nice enough as was the Sicilian sea bream. The grilled lamb chops tasted good but must have been made from the poorest selection of chops available -- I had barely a few bites of edible meat and my platter remained filled with bones when I was through.

The Calabrian pepper sauce at the table was superlative -- but that was the only good thing about the meal. We kept getting the feeling that they wanted us to finish and leave as people were constantly streaming in and the server constantly checking in on us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“a great place for lunch and dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

When a restaurant is always full of locals, you can trust it. L'Oca Giuliva (= the merry goose) is one of such places. Located in a relatively central position, you can have a quick lunch on your own, or linger with friends: it's always busy but in spite of that the service will always be prompt and kind. The food is good, the choice vast, at lunch there are cheap menu selections. The décor is pleasant and colourful. I've been many times and will go there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oca Giuliva also viewed

Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to L'Oca Giuliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Oca Giuliva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.