We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb restaurant in Milan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Luogo di Aimo e Nadia

Il Luogo di Aimo e Nadia
Via Montecuccoli, 6, 20147 Milan, Italy
02-416-886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 5,060 restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A superb restaurant in Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Il luogo di Aimo e Nadia is a very special place where you can have a unique experience for your senses. We suggest trying the "tasting menu" matched with the relevant choice of wines. Everything was perfect, the dishes in perfectly pairing with excellent wines, the impeccable service and the atmosphere.
Of course, a top experience entails a...top price to pay. But it is worthwhile, no doubt. We will come back.
Check out the website to have an idea about the place and the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    254
    85
    42
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best dinner we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had the tasting menu on a Friday night. All in all, it was the best dinner any four of us has ever had, and we're quite seasoned foodies, with experience of all kinds of restaurants on all continents. Definitely worth its two Michelin stars. This is what Italian fine dining should be like: refined and sophisticated, but still simple, crystal clear in thought and execution. Especially the main course and the dessert blew us away. The tiramisu intepretation was a taste explosion and in combination with the Sicilian dessert wine, unforgettable. A nice touch was the selection of coffees after dinner, the Haiti Komet espresso was actually the best coffee I've ever had!

I'm really happy that I have eaten here. My only regret is that I don't speak Italian, so I didn't have a chance to discuss the food with the owner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth travelling to Milan for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

On Friday 23/02/13, I met my oldest friends here for a dinner planned one year in advance. I had some some research, and read about il Luogo di Aimo e Nadia- and I am so glad I did. Slightly out of central Milan (€1.50 metro or €20 for a 4 person taxi), the space and atmosphere the dining room offer is incredible.

We were very well looked after from start to finish. Arriving early and cold, we were quickly seated despite the staff being on their break, given prosecco and some exquisite tasters. A deep fried olive, some sundried red pepper, some crisp bread with a sweet marmalade. These were perfect at whetting our appetite, I'm quite sure we wouldn't have said no to more!

The wine list is extensive, and you could drink like a king here. My brother discovered a love for red wine on our one night in Milan- and we all agreed that what we had (although we can only remember it now as an italian red (!)) was the best we've ever had..

The waitresses, waiters and maitre'd were all impeccably presented and polite. We toured the kitchen, fell in love with the bathroom. and people watched- the room filled with patrons of Milan fashion week and what looked to he premiership footballers. It has the buzz off a local restaurant but the class of one in the trendiest capital on earth.

Bread and olive oil even managed to excite, the oil is very mild, letting the bread sing. We opted for a starter or a pasta, followed by a main. Each was executed to perfection. My brother, with his italian beer in a glass, was told off for trying to order pâté then red mullet, and advised to go for a perfectly cooked venison dish. He did, and was totally happy with 'the best food (he'd) ever had'. I had the Etruscan vegetable soup, followed by cuttlefish with squid. I didn't want either dish to end. They were visually beautiful, imitating the modern art on the walls and chairs. Other dishes our group loved were the pigeon, the simple spagetonni, the pork. Each dessert was heaven; and just when you thought you were full, the bill was accompanied with even more little treats (perhaps to sweeten your taste before the bill).

The food is expensive- but well worth every euro. We flew in on Friday night, dumped our bags, headed to Nadia...and returned the next morning (via an evening at Una hotel and a morning in the lounge at Linate). I cannot emphases how much this restaurant is worth the flight- which can be super cheap if you book ahead. The company, the food, the restaurant..it combines to easily become one of the best evenings of my life.

Thank you to everybody who made our trip so memorable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A strong candidate for the top restaurant in Milan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had the great pleasure of dining once again at this very special place, a little away from the center of Milan, with two colleagues who are also very close friends. What a wonderful experience. The restaurant, owned by a maried couple for over 50 years, is a must for any food lover coming to this city. We could not resist the tasting menu - which provides great value for money and offers a wide variety of dishes - each unique and made to perfection. We were lucky to meet the two owners and have a discussion with them about the place, its histroy and the source for the food they are serving. When diding there, try to see Aimo and talk to him about the place - it will add to your dining experience. Can't say enough about this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Heverlee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good price / quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was my first time in this restaurant.
Very friendly maître d'hotel.
The food was well prepared.
Some original dishes.
I recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Luogo di Aimo e Nadia also viewed

 

Been to Il Luogo di Aimo e Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Luogo di Aimo e Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.