We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we remembered” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Lisander

Don Lisander
Via Alessandro Manzoni 12A, Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)
02-7602-0130
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Don Lisander is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,342 of 5,280 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Not as good as we remembered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Every time we stay in Milan centre we eat at this restaurant and have been doing this for 20 years!
it is always good to be remembered when you enter.
However, this time, although the restaurant is very welcoming and the service is good, the food was not as good as we remembered.
my spaghetti was "tired" although the sauce was excellent.
My rognoncini were good but the potatoes were cold.
Pity!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    36
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Turist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

It looks so nice from the street side you think it has to be good. It is not. After you are seated, you start to notice the gang of waiters that spend more time talking to each other than doing their job. The value of the food was one of the worst I ever had. Ar the end they tried to charge me fro water I never had. Worst service ever in Milan.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A very good choice for a business (or any other) meal in Milan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This has been one of my favorite places in Milan for some time. It is right in the center of the city (walking distance to La Scala and the main shopping area), somewhat hidden in the garden of a building on Manzoni street. Food is very good, authentic Milanese and service is "old school", very professional.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“arrogant waiters and average pricey food..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

i would say that the title says it all...used to be a good place but the waiters have become increasingly arrogant as if they were working at la tour d'argent in Paris...

  • Visited November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Consistantly reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We ate here a few times and were never let down. Service, food and wines were excellent. Setting was pleasant. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Lisander also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Don Lisander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Lisander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.