We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the Milan suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Villapizzone 24, 20156 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #35 of 433 hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the Milan suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I visited the Radisson Blu on a short city break to Milan in October 2012. Our first impressions of the hotel was that it was incredibly modern and not really inkeeping with the local surroundings. Inside, the reception staff were incredibly slow at checking us in. We waited for about 10-15 minutes and there was only one member of staff on duty. Found this quite surprising for both customer service and security issues.

Our room was lovely and clean, a large flat screen tv was on the wall, very comfortable arm chair and bed, and the shower was wonderfully powerful (just what was needed after a lot of sightseeing!).

Our second impression of the reception staff did not improve. I asked for details of whether we could use the tram outside the hotel to take us to the Duamo. The receptionist advised we could but failed to speak in English. We stood at the tram stop for 20 minutes before having what I can only describe as a sherade game with a local which established the public transport workers were on strike. Would have been incredibly helpful for the receptionist to tell us this. She must have known.

We used the bar in the hotel as we found the nightlife in Milan really boring and most places closed pretty early. The bar was lovely, cocktails were great but really expensive. They include a "city tax" on top which we were not aware of. Breakfasts were really nice, although choice did not vary much and would have been perfect to have pork sausages instead of the horrendous (i think beef and chicken) ones which were on every single day we stayed.

Also used the swimming pool and sauna. The changing rooms and pool were incredibly clean and having these facilities were definitely a huge plus for the hotel.

All in all, a lovely stay but front of house could do better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have a lovely view out to the city and you can see the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBLUMilano, Direttore generale at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read some not satisfactory experiences at Front Office, wich I will follow it up. Regarding the breakfast, we do have pork sausages as well the turkey ones, for the guests that does not eat pork.
I thank you for your description "lovely hotel" and I hope we all can welcome you back.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    356
    79
    17
    10
See reviews for
103
291
33
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was absolutely faultless. Very clean, modern and the rooms were fantastic! Very spacious and well equipped. The only slight downside about our room was that there was a white plastic sheet over the window because the hotel was having some building work on it, so this meant we had no view, but we were willing to accept that as we paid such a bargain price for the room. We weren't affected by the building work at all, I'm not sure that there was anyone even working there over the weekend. It's probably worth mentioning that the traffic traveling past the hotel caused no problems either as the windows were very sound proof. The swimming pool and spa facilities were great! Very contemporary and had a relaxing atmosphere. We did find the staff at the hotel very rude and unhelpful at times. Not sure if that's because we were guests staying via Late Rooms and therefore part of a deal, but I would have been really angry if we had been treated so poorly if we were fully paying guests. One example of this is when one of the receptionists at night simply refused to help us book a taxi back from the stadium, saying it wasn't his job. Something positive to point out is most of the staff we encountered did speak very good english, which always helps. Also I'm sure it's the same with most hotels in Milan, but watch out for the city tax which they add on to your bill each time you eat there or order room service. It was €8 each time, which may not seem like much but it soon adds up. Also, when you check in at reception, they ask for €100 either in cash or on your credit card even if you've prepaid for the room, in case you cause any damages during your stay etc. Location of the hotel was not ideal but it was easy enough to catch the tram into Milan city centre. This took about 25 minutes. A taxi was about 15 minutes and cost approx €30. So all in all, the Radisson Blu was a wonderful place to stay, but the staff could have helped make the experience even more memorable by simply being a bit more friendly!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBLUMilano, Direttore generale at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read you enjoyed the stay and cleaniness of the hotel and as you said a wonderful place to stay.
Let me just mention the fact that our hospitality does not reflect the rates, it is just our objiective to give the maximum confort to our guests. I also would like to point out the city tax issue; the city tax are not added to bill when you order a meal, city tax is an amount of money that Guest does not pay to the hotel, but to the Milan municipality and it appplies to all the hotel in the city.
Regarding the credit card, this is requested not for damages, but just to cover any extras that may occour during your stay.
We all looking forward to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is new, has excellent rooms, and some of the most motivated and genuinely friendly staff imaginable. The only thing that the hotel lacks is a great location. Transport is very easy from the hotel so getting around isn't a real problem, but there just isn't much to do in the area. I would highly recommend the hotel, however if you are there for business in the Bovisa or Certosa areas of Milan. It is a solid, good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBLUMilano, Direttore generale at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am very happy you have enjoyed the service, yes we are not in the hearth of the city, but you can reach Duomo square with 4 stops using Villapizzone train.
We are glad we have been able to let you enjoy the stay with the service.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco di Baviera
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

In Milan for business stayed at this hotel suggested by a friend. Excellent choice! Beautiful hotel, friendly and competent staff, for sure worth more then 4 star!
Congratulation to the entire F&B staff and Matteo in particular.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBLUMilano, Direttore generale at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic feedback, thank you.

I will surely pass your comments to the F&B team and in particular to Matteo our Barman.

Looking forward to welcome you back

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with good facilities and exceptional service. Stayed on business and enjoyed almost everything about the hotel. There is a well equipped gym, pool and spa within the hotel and a good restaurant. The staff are all very friendly, polite and go out of their way to help and serve you.

Two disappointments for me though - the dinner menu is quite limited and strangely enough! Even on the 9th floor I can hear the traffic in the street. However, it is a quiet street so it may just be you notice the odd car!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBLUMilano, Direttore generale at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review.

You are right, service,service, service, is the one that guest love to have, I am happy we have delivered this to you.
Sorry for the fact you could hear the traffic, this area of Milano, is a residential one, please let us know on your next stay, we can assign you a room looking on the courtyard, very very quite.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a three night city break to Milan whilst staying at the Radisson Blu.
We were extremely impressed with the hotel and quiet town it is situated in just outside the busy city centre. The staff were amazing and so helpful and friendly especially the two lady waitress' in the restaurant, your glass was never empty! We ate in the restaurant every night !
My partner and I stayed in a business class room which was very spacious and definetly worth the upgrade! This hotel made our trip to Milan out best city break yet! Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed there for a business conference for some days. Here my impressions

The hotel personnel is very friendly and truly willing to help. This does not only apply to the front desk - where you would expect it anyways - but also to the household personnel and to the janitorial services: everyone is friendly and knowledgeable.

In terms of geographical location, this hotel is incredibly easy to reach if you arrive from the North by car. In fact, it takes only approx 40 minutes from the Swiss border to get here, and it is also ideally located if you arrive from the Malpensa airport. It is indeed a bit out of hand if you want/need to reach the city centre. The surroundings are very, very quiet, both at day and at night. We even walked around at late night down the nearby via Varesina and never had the sensation of being in a dodgy area.

The hotel has a large underground car parking, but beware: its height will not allow a SUV with a rooftop box to enter, and there is no alternative parking space outside.

In all rooms and spaces of the hotel you get complimentary WiFi connection, good stable bandwidth and the connection keeps up even if you walk around. Excellent for a business stay.

Prices are on the higher side, e.g. the minibar is expensive and the bar is also not cheap. (but the Mojito cocktail was good!) Please note that the coffee you'll get in this hotel is more of an american style, robot made coffee. Do not expect any gorgeous Italian espresso or cappuccino, tough, if you are into this kind of things. The food is of good quality, Italian inspired (obviously) and internationally palatable.

The rooms are clean and have a nice, soft and posh atmosphere, but their design is functionally flawed, e.g.:
a) when you go to bed and want to shut down the lights, you'll quickly enter treasure hunt mode: some lights are switched off by the switches on the bedside, others not (and you'll have to figure out the position of all the switches in the room first). To increase the suspense, some lamps have own built-in switches, i.e. they do not respond to wall switches.
b) There is no direct lightning on the bathroom mirror: you see your face, but in a dark shadow
c) I had two rooms: in the first one, the TV was broken, and in the second one both the sink and the shower drains seemed to be clogged.

Mattresses are on the hard side, with very soft pillows. Just in case you have specific preferences...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan

Address: Via Villapizzone 24, 20156 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Milan
#7 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#24 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#32 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#49 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan Hotel Milan
Chedi Hotel Milan
The Chedi Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.