We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREE, BIG, LEAFY, SHADY, HISTORIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parco Sempione

Parco Sempione
Piazza Castello, Milan, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Milan Bike Tour
Ranked #32 of 372 Attractions in Milan
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This romantic, easily accessible park offers recreational fun (including jogging and bike paths) for adults and kids alike. Flora and fauna abound at Parco Sempione, which stands near some of Milan’s other popular civic institutions and arenas.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
ireland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
“FREE, BIG, LEAFY, SHADY, HISTORIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

1. Lovely large park, free of course and lots of shade to hide you from the cruel Milan sun.
2. Park is situated right outside the Castello Sforzesco and before the Arch of Peace.
3. Small aquarium also situated within the park.
4. Lots of drinks and food stalls in the park and they don't rip tourists off, water was priced at 1.20.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    196
    50
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of my favourite park in Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Parco Sempione is a large and very green park in the North-West of Milan center. I really liked this park since it is a great mix of beautifull buildings (check the arch of peace and the castle), peacefull ponds, tiny charming cafés and good cultural places (the library is a must). One night while I was just having a walk there, there was an outdoor movie screening which was really cool. I would recommand it if you wanna escape the heat of the city for a few hours, or by the evening for a picnic. They also organize some parties there that you don't want to miss.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smaller version of Central Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Walked through Parco Sempione many times during my stay in Milan. During the day it was filled with couples holding hands, people exercising, playing sports, dogs running around (without leashes), kids playing, people relaxing on benches, etc. At night there were couples walking through, holding hands, or people simply enjoying a late night stroll through the park. Walked past Bar Bianco in the middle of the park on a Thursday night, which was pumping and the DJ was playing mostly American music! Decided to go the next night since it was a beautiful night and we wanted to do something fun on our last night in Milan. Loved it! Everyone there was happy, dancing, drinking, etc. And the bartender was really nice and made me some fruity concoction since I didn't know what I wanted (alcohol selection different than NYC). Definitely check out the park during the day and at night. Just bring some insect repellent first!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Would have rated excellent if it wasnt for the mosquitos!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely park but forgot to bring insect repellent!!
Check out the bar called Bianco Milano within the park in between the castle and arch .. Was there late afternoon early evening there was a dj, young hip crowd, happy hour cocktails with all you can eat free tapas food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A beautiful park with lots of (porta) loos and seats to sit and relax. Some nice water features with huge fish. Plenty of grassed areas where you can sit or children can play dirt free as there is a special area for dogs only. Plenty of huge trees so you can sit in the shade and a safe children's' play area. At the far end of the park is the Arco della Pace built by Napoleon and down one side is the Torre Banca Tower where you can take the elevator to see the views of Milan and the Alps for a few euros.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parco Sempione also viewed

 

Been to Parco Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parco Sempione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.