We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore

Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore
Corso Magenta, 15, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$62*
and up
Milan Art Tour: Da Vinci's 'The Last...
Ranked #2 of 372 Attractions in Milan
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Larger than I had ever suspected from looking on the outside. There is also a museum connected( 3 levels).Small but very interesting.The cost was 5 euros for a family of 4. No need for a taxi or metro if you are leaving the Duomo area. Only a 7 minute walk with children.
For shoppers-small high end clothing store Matia's in location. Prices 50% off retail. Wow, I had fun here also.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    140
    26
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Definitely somewhat off the main tourist track, you certainly have to go looking for this. But it is very worthwhile visiting even after seeing several other churches and historic palaces in Milan.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“More than surprise ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

When you walk pass this church, you will never want to walk in as the building is very normal like any other church. But once you are inside, you get to see all the wall painting on every inch of the wall. The place is quiet with very little tourists. It is FOC, but we donate some offering as a token of appreciation. It is definitely worth going. The moment you step inside the church, you go wooooooow..

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
121 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“One of my Milan’s highlights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

With the first step in San Maurizio, my breath was taken away. I heard about the church from many excellent reviews from Tripadvisor but didn’t expect to see such allure. It contains stunning frescos dating back to the 16th century.

The building is a monumental hall divided in two parts: one hall for the public (just behind the front entrance) and another (the larger hall behind the main altar) for the nuns. To reach the second hall you need to go through a small entrance on the left of the main altar.

There are beautiful images (such as of St Catherine) around every corner. The most important painter involved was Bernardino Luini, a Lombard Renaissance master influenced by Leonardo da Vinci and Raphael. Luini's work was continued by his children and pupils Aurelio and Giovan Piero Luini, and by artists like Callisto Piazza, and Simone Peterzano; the latter will be the master of Caravaggio.

There is a small brochure in English which is very informative.

I wish I could stay longer but had to leave as my Last Supper ticket time was coming up. The church is only a ten minute walk from Santa Maria delle Grazie.

The entrance for San Maurizio is free. There is more good news: unlike most churches in Milan, this one is open all day!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful. A relaxing place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our day in Milan. It is a face paced, metropolitan city. There were people everywhere- tourists, businessmen, students, residents all on the go. It was a fun atmosphere to be a part of, but it was also nice to take a quiet break in this beautiful church. There's no denying that the Duomo is remarkable, but this was such a contrast. We've been to many beautiful churches in Italy, and I've loved them all for different reasons. This one isn't necessarily better than others we've seen, but it was definitely one we'll remember for the remarkable frescoes and for the convent aspect. We left our viewing of the Last Supper, walked along Corso Magenta to the church, and then continued walking to the Duomo. Very easy to find.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.