We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Napoleon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ozanam 12, 20129 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 432 hotels in Milan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

When my husband, two teenagers, and I stayed there, the Hotel Napoleon was undergoing renovations to change it from a three-star hotel to a four-star hotel. While I have no quarrel with the room we rented (a family suite with two rooms), I have a huge beef with the fact that we were never warned that our stay there would be marred by headache-inducing construction noise on the day we arrived or that workmen would wake us up by setting up directly under our bedroom window at 5:15 the next morning.

I don't understand why, when we were there off-season and most of the hotel was empty, we'd been placed on the first floor, thus guaranteeing that all the construction commotion in the courtyard onto which our suite faced would be incredibly disruptive, even with our windows shuttered. We could have been given a room on a higher floor and at least the early morning set-up noise made by the workmen shifting stuff around wouldn't have been audible to us. To be woken up before dawn was totally preventable. But then, this hotel clearly doesn't concern itself with the quality of its guests' stay.

Adding to these noise-related woes was the fact that the free WiFi only worked if you went and sat in the hotel lobby and that the woman presiding over breakfast the next morning was sour and unpleasant.

Even tho' the suite we were in was quite nice, I would never stay in this hotel again. By not even attempting to shield us from the racket of their renovation, management sent a clear message that their guests' comfort is not a concern for them.

I can't imagine how this attitude will serve the Hotel Napoleon as they seek four-star designation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
17
31
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

thank you for booking.com we booked via their special offer for this hotel. It was really good deal (cheap!!)
Good location, nice for shopping, eating, everything !
Room is clearn. Staffs were very helpful. We enjoyed stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Had the worst night sleep of any place I have ever stayed. We had to keep the air-conditioning on because it was hot and it was terribly noisy. Bathroom tiny - shower cubicle almost impossible to fit inside and toilet smells seemed to come up through the plumbing etc.

Place was depressing and gave me the creeps.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Have spent there one day, and i was not very often in hotel. Room and bed in single was enough. But bathroom with show was very small also for one person. Also space for breakfest was very small, i was afraid to touch mine neighboors. Internet is free, this is a good! Also good location, near with all possibles transports but noise from main street is far away!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

Was given room 103 and air cond leaks in bathroom. Was clear by water stain it had been like this for some time. We got to move room but staff were extremely rude like it was our fault!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I spent a week here in July, and would happily go back again. My room was very comfortable, 5th floor, overlooking courtyard, with my own small terrace. Didn't use the mini bar contents but the fridge was useful for the wonderful Italian fruit bought locally - Pam supermarket, or Saturday street market nearby. Good breakfast selection. Staff at reception were friendly and charming, except for one receptionist who was neither.

Excellent location - a quiet street, just off the bustling and lively Corso Bueno Aires. Lima is the nearest metro station, but it's worth walking a little further to via Luigi Settembrini, for the tram line 1, which goes through the centro storico, past all the places you might wish to visit - Duomo, La Scala, Castello Sforzesco.

One of the reviewers writes that the walls are “fabric and very thin” which seems strange! Just to clarify - there really are proper walls between the rooms, this is not a tent! Instead of wallpaper there is a fabric covering. Between the fabric and the wall is some sort of backing material. I never had any problems with hearing the people next door.

Room Tip: I'm not bothered about views, and thought my room was perfect - 5th floor, overlooking courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is so well located in a very quiet street just of Corso Buenos Aires at Lima. Perfect for shopping and getting about Milan. But what a surly reception! Do these people want to attract return custom. Not a smile at reception. Room service was deplorable with wet towels left on the bed, request to change a light bulb ignored, and a non functioning WiFi. The breakfast room had tables really suitable for one person. The bright spot was the charming breakfast room manager. She was not a native of Milan and tried so hard when the overall management was so poor. This could be a great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Via Ozanam 12, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Milan
#64 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napoleon Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires, the most famous shopping street in Milan. The red stazioe MM (Lima) is only 20 meters from the hotel and lets you reach in just 25min the Rho-Pero Fair, the central station is only 10min walking .The rooms with Sky and Free internet wifi access, You may of course enjoy your breakfast in the comfort of your room. The reception is open 24 hours a day. The professional staff will put you immediately at your ease. L'Hotel Napoleon è situato in una posizione strategica, nel cuore di corso Buenos Aires, la via dello shopping più famosa di Milano. La stazioe MM rossa (Lima) dista a soli 20 mt dalla struttura e ti permette di raggiungere in soli 25min il polo fieristico di Rho-Pero, la stazione centrale dista a soli 10min a piedi.Le camere con Sky e internet wifi gratuita, poterte gustare la vostra prima colazione nel confort della vostra camera.La reception del napoleon e aperta 24ore su 24. Il personale professionale vi mettera immediatamente a vostro agio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Napoleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.