We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place: good for sleeping, but they cheat you about almost everything” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valley to your Saves list
Hotel Valley
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Soperga 19, 20100 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #415 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Izhevsk, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strange place: good for sleeping, but they cheat you about almost everything”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I booked a bed in 4-bed romm in this hostel because it's close to the central train station (I had a very early train next morning), because of the low price, because of "free wi-fi in the room, and because 4 bed is ok to sleep overnight. Unfortunately, only the 1st point was true. There is NO wi-fi in the room. Also there is no real public area to have a seat and connect. I had to do it on the stair case. The cheap price was a fake, as I had to pay 5 euro extra (2 for a city tax, and 3 for the sheets and towels). If you stay for a week or more it's not a problem, but if you are there only for one night, it could be quite disappointing.

And they finally put me into 6-bed room! It looked as a standart 4-bed room with an extra double bed, and on my arrival they asked me not to take it, so I din't care much thinking it was not in use. But when I came back later after downtown, it was occupied, so at night we was fully packed.

The dormitory room is clean and quite ok, but the bathroom don't have a lock, so you privacy in the toilet is a little bit questioned. You even don't get your own key for the room.

So the location is fine, the cleanliness is fine, but menagement is quite terrible! The staff don't care about anything. They don't see any problem if a customer booked a certain room type with wi-fi and for a certain price, and finally got something completely different.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    28
    25
    70
See reviews for
18
27
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked through a third party website (hotels.com) and the room was meant to be paid for within 72 hours. We received the confirmation aying we owed $00.00
Once getting there he told us we owed the entire payment. Turns out their stupid booking system didn't take the payment. For travellers like us (backpackers on a 5 month trip around Europe) with a set budget per day this was a big blow. And when I explained this to him HE LAUGHED! Would never go back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just baddd!.. No hot water, that says enough. And ooh the "lobby" is ridiculous , there is a bed next to the "lobby desk" where they sleep on. You have to buz when you want to enter the property , and I had to wait for 30 mins the first night outside, because the men was sleeping and didn't hear the doorbell.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

- poorly organized staff - first they didn't know how many nights we had booked, then they sent us to an occupied room
- wrong directions for getting there, posted on the internet
- dampness on the ceiling of the bathroom
- the sink tap was dripping continuously
- dusty shelf in the bathroom
- the water was not warm enough
- clogged drain
- broken fridge
- bad lighting
- compulsory tourist tax (2 euros/person/night) - not sure what that was for
- very close to the main train station
- got clean towels every day
- there's a shelf at the reception with things like: hairdryer, water boiler, shampoo, that you can use for free
- good Wi-Fi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location is fantastic - 5 minutes walk from Statione Centrale , where the bus from Bergamo airport left us. So it was very convenient both at check in and check out.
The staff was nice, although we checked in at 2 AM and checked out at 4 AM !!!! And the hotel policy states that check in is prior to 12 PM and after 10 AM, so that was fantastic for us. Our plane was 3 hours late because of a strike , and i was worried we would be left in Milan at 2 AM without a place to sleep, but the receptionist is there 24 hours!
We did not pay for towels as other reviewers mentioned below, but we did pay the city tax, 1 euro/person/day ...
The room was extremely basic, the bed was ok, the sheets clean, tehre was a small lcd tv that worked, the bathroom was acceptable for my wife's standards. Clean, but not well maintained .
For 3 nights it was ok, given we did not spend too much time in our room.
The walls are indeed very thin, we could hear the water in the pipes and the cleaning lady that woke us up every morning at 9 when she was cleaning other rooms. This was actually a very good thing for us, because we needed to wake up and go to see the city anyway.
The room was also very small, but acceptable for a few hours sleep (not to spend the day there)
My tablet decided to start playing music at 12 at night by itself and we had complains from our neighbors that they could not sleep, although we were sleeping next to it - i guess they were not tired enough :)
The city center is about half an hour walk, it is less than 4 km away
Bottom line: for a budget hotel with an excellent position and 24 hours reception it was perfect. Cheap, convenient, private bathroom, great location and 24 h reception.
My review and ranking are for a cheap hotel/hostel and in direct connection with its price, not to be compared with the good hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We made a reservation through HostelBookers (although would probably be the same through any third-party site) but when we got to the hotel there were obligatory 'payable extras': linen, towels and breakfast. These are not included in the advertised price but you have no option to NOT pay for them (e.g. if you have your own towel, or don't want breakfast). Rather than 'payable extras' they are mandatory charges. Although it was only 6 Euro extra, we felt deceived and when we queried these charges the receptionist was rude, defensive and refused to take responsibility.
The room is basic and basically clean. However the old mattress in the hallway, hole in the bathroom door, mould covering the bathroom ceiling and tired sagging mattresses make this a grim place to stay. It is conveniently located near Milan Centrale, but this is really its only plus. It relies on single-visit customers, so we felt compelled to let you know to avoid it if possible! Bad value for money. Rude staff. Shabby. Depressing brown and khaki colour scheme. Dishonest over-charging.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The first experience with a 1 * hotel - and I hope the last. It is near the train station and can be good when you need to sleep. The room was spacious, clean, but very noisy. Staff speak English. We did not have breakfast - a place for it is a deterrent. Price per night is good about this area - but for the same money I got better service elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are very noisy! You will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley

Address: Via Soperga 19, 20100 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Valley 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.