We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good choice only for its location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Valley to your Saves list
Hotel Valley
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Soperga 19, 20100 Milan, Italy (Porta Venezia)   |  
Ranked #409 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a good choice only for its location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

- poorly organized staff - first they didn't know how many nights we had booked, then they sent us to an occupied room
- wrong directions for getting there, posted on the internet
- dampness on the ceiling of the bathroom
- the sink tap was dripping continuously
- dusty shelf in the bathroom
- the water was not warm enough
- clogged drain
- broken fridge
- bad lighting
- compulsory tourist tax (2 euros/person/night) - not sure what that was for
- very close to the main train station
- got clean towels every day
- there's a shelf at the reception with things like: hairdryer, water boiler, shampoo, that you can use for free
- good Wi-Fi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    23
    22
    49
See reviews for
14
19
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location is fantastic - 5 minutes walk from Statione Centrale , where the bus from Bergamo airport left us. So it was very convenient both at check in and check out.
The staff was nice, although we checked in at 2 AM and checked out at 4 AM !!!! And the hotel policy states that check in is prior to 12 PM and after 10 AM, so that was fantastic for us. Our plane was 3 hours late because of a strike , and i was worried we would be left in Milan at 2 AM without a place to sleep, but the receptionist is there 24 hours!
We did not pay for towels as other reviewers mentioned below, but we did pay the city tax, 1 euro/person/day ...
The room was extremely basic, the bed was ok, the sheets clean, tehre was a small lcd tv that worked, the bathroom was acceptable for my wife's standards. Clean, but not well maintained .
For 3 nights it was ok, given we did not spend too much time in our room.
The walls are indeed very thin, we could hear the water in the pipes and the cleaning lady that woke us up every morning at 9 when she was cleaning other rooms. This was actually a very good thing for us, because we needed to wake up and go to see the city anyway.
The room was also very small, but acceptable for a few hours sleep (not to spend the day there)
My tablet decided to start playing music at 12 at night by itself and we had complains from our neighbors that they could not sleep, although we were sleeping next to it - i guess they were not tired enough :)
The city center is about half an hour walk, it is less than 4 km away
Bottom line: for a budget hotel with an excellent position and 24 hours reception it was perfect. Cheap, convenient, private bathroom, great location and 24 h reception.
My review and ranking are for a cheap hotel/hostel and in direct connection with its price, not to be compared with the good hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We made a reservation through HostelBookers (although would probably be the same through any third-party site) but when we got to the hotel there were obligatory 'payable extras': linen, towels and breakfast. These are not included in the advertised price but you have no option to NOT pay for them (e.g. if you have your own towel, or don't want breakfast). Rather than 'payable extras' they are mandatory charges. Although it was only 6 Euro extra, we felt deceived and when we queried these charges the receptionist was rude, defensive and refused to take responsibility.
The room is basic and basically clean. However the old mattress in the hallway, hole in the bathroom door, mould covering the bathroom ceiling and tired sagging mattresses make this a grim place to stay. It is conveniently located near Milan Centrale, but this is really its only plus. It relies on single-visit customers, so we felt compelled to let you know to avoid it if possible! Bad value for money. Rude staff. Shabby. Depressing brown and khaki colour scheme. Dishonest over-charging.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The first experience with a 1 * hotel - and I hope the last. It is near the train station and can be good when you need to sleep. The room was spacious, clean, but very noisy. Staff speak English. We did not have breakfast - a place for it is a deterrent. Price per night is good about this area - but for the same money I got better service elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are very noisy! You will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it was close to the station so we didn't have to walk very far with our bags. When we arrived we were told we had to wait 40 minutes for the room to be sorted. The staff were not friendly or helpful in any way. Our room was small and very dirty. There was dust everywhere and stains on the toilet seat. But the worst thing was the noise, the walls are very thin and we could even hear the drains above us which was not very nice when you're trying to sleep. We were also charged 2 euros at the end of our stay for towels and sheets however we didn't use the sheets as it was too hot and we had our own towels with us so it would've been nice to have known before wed been given them and charged, as we didn't want to pay anymore for such a horrible stay. So glad we only booked one night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friends and I had to stay one night in Milan before catching a plane the next morning, so we figured that staying in a hotel would be a fine way to spend a night. Unfortunately we were wrong. The four of us stayed in one room - the room had a long list of problems. The hallway was littered with extra mattress and drawers, and the loud environment gave the hotel a college dorm-like feel. The window blinds in the room were some sort of metal, and once opened, would not close again. There was an electrical socket that had wires sticking out of it, right near the head of one of the beds. The picture in the room appeared to be a puzzle that had been stuck in a picture frame. The bathroom was small and uncomfortable - it also smelled horrible. And to top it all off, one of my friends was bit by something (we think it was a bug) while lying in bed. We ended up staying up half the night worried something else was going to happen. It was an uncomfortable, horrible night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has a very good location, just outside the train station and even nearer to the bus stop where the buses for Bergamo stop. It is not great, the furniture and the tiles in the bathroom are worn out, but everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room was also very quiet. Our friends from the next room complained that their sheets smelled of bleach but to me this means that they were clean enough! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley

Address: Via Soperga 19, 20100 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Valley 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.