We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location to San Siro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gambara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gambara Hotel to your Saves list
Gambara Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fra Galgario 4, 20100 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent location to San Siro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel Gambara is not exactly in the centrum, but it is a short walk to San Siro stadium (I travelled with my brother and father, so they wanted to go) and there is a metro station around the corner. We had free parking outside, in front of the hotel on the street.
We had a triple room, 3 single beds, TV, sink and shower in the room. At the end of corridor, there was a shared bathroom and toilet, which we used, it was OK. There is a steep staircase from the floor we were staying leading (I suppose) to some other rooms.
The hotel is on the second floor, there is an old fashioned lift, so its not a problem, if you have lots of luggages. The people at the reception was really nice, providing us with tourist maps and advising, where to get off a metro, so we get off at the Castello Sforzesco (I cant remember the name of metro station, maybe the same?), which was beautiful, and then walked to piazza del Duomo. the metro ticket cost 1 euro one journey/person.
the room was clean and big (no balcony) but big window. there can be a noise from the traffic at the morning, but we didn´t mind, as i was up early in the morning and just sitting in the window and enjoying the feeling, that its a real Milan.
there is no airconditioning, but there is a big fan, so it was enough.
there is a big supermarket just across the street (3 minutes walk). there is a roundabout.
we arrived at 9 pm, then went for a drink (after driving all day). Beer was about 4 euro.
You can buy some water and other beverages at the reception, which I appreciated.
No frills hotel, but I really liked it and I was satisfied. I would go there again. We stayed there 2 nights (July 2010) for 120 euro total.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    13
    9
    8
See reviews for
5
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kiev
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The only advantage of this hotel - is location - not far from Gamgara Metro station. Hotel is dirty, old and disgusting. Better to pay more money and stay in some real hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

spent there 3 nights, location and service are excellent. good experience, though obviously nothing fancy. if you are looking for a cheap, clean hotel for short stays, it might be your perfect choice. very well connected to subway, supermarket on the corner. reception is 24/7, they were always ready to help us. warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Hotel Gambara is a awful hotel. You only could shower with hot water 5 minutes, then you must wait 45 minutes till cold water turn hot~ This hotel don't show this situation in Booking Website, but they have the announcement on the bathroom's door, so they think they have let customers know,they don't have responsibility~ Because I didn't notice the annoucement, so I showered cold water in the cold weather~ I coundn't continued the shower, then I told the manager in hotel, he said he can't do anything,because he has announced in the door, he can't changed room and can't refund, and he said the room only 40 euro for 1 night, I only deserved to it~This hotel have another problem,the only socket in the room is near the ceiling(very high) and you must remove the pin of television, then you could charge the battery~If the manager concern the environment, he should save water,energy in his house, not from guest~

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

This hotel was placed near a metro and was easy to get to. When we arrived, we were met by the receptionist who clearly didn't want to be working that day! He was a bit dismissive and we were pleased to get away from him once he gave us his keys!

We had to walk down an incredibly steep and narrow spiral suitcase which definitely wouldn't be allowed in England due to health and safety issues!

We arrived during a hot time of year, so didn't really sleep very well. I feel that even though the air conditioning worked, it wasn't spectacular, and didn't seem to make any difference to the temperature of the room, despite leaving it on for the evening while we went out for dinner!

However on departure, we were checked out by the owner of the property who was very pleasant.

All in all, an ok visit, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story, Wyoming U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is our second stay in 3 years. The staff were great, close to the Metro, clean rooms. If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. But if you want a nice clean hotel close to Metro travel, this is it. I will stay again when we come back to Italy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gambara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gambara Hotel

Address: Via Fra Galgario 4, 20100 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Gambara Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Gambara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gambara Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gambara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.