We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm.. seriously?!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Greco Hotel to your Saves list
Greco Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Ugolini 21/3, 20125 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #397 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hmm.. seriously?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Even though Grecco is a 2-star hotel, its service can be rated as even less than two stars. If stars could go into negative, Grecco would probably be awarded with two negative stars rather than anything else!
Firstly, it was quite a challenge to find it, as it is located in a well hidden alley in a rather unsafe (so we've heard) part of the city. Instead of a reserved parking place, we were told to simply park in the mentioned alley - for a parking place which we payed 10 Euros for, this was rather disappointing..
Hotel's appearance was yet another shock. We happened to arrive at a time when the owners decided to do some construction work on the hotel, so most of the rooms were nonfunctional. Instead of being given a normal room, we were pointed into the direction of a room which was literally 1 meter apart from the reception desk! This was a huge shock which in addition to thin walls enabled us to hear every single thing that happened in the rest of the hotel.
Since I mentioned the reception desk.. well, here's a story about that! The reception, the entrance, hotel staff's office and the buffet where the guests should have breakfast , lunch or dinner is actually one 20-square-meter room! This is a multi-functional room which can be only described as - outrageous! Two stars, three stars, one star, whichever it is, this is no way for a hotel to function! Additionally, our paid breakfast were: empty croissants wrapped in plastic which can be bought for 0.50 Euros per piece, some butter, some jam, toasted bread, tea and coffee - considering the entire breakfast, that empty croissant was a miracle!
Now, the 'best' part - the room! When you pay for a family room, you have certain assumptions - it is certain that there will be a certain shortage of space.. that is a logical assumption since there are four people in one average hotel room.. but what we have experienced in that hotel is beyond shocking! The entire room was total of 20 square meters - 20 square meters for FOUR people! Everything in the room including the room itself was in bad shape! Walls were wet and moldy due to humidity; beds were old and rusty and unbelievably uncomfortable; there was a table and a night commode and these two counted for the rest of the furniture, besides the beds; blankets and pillow cases were dirty.. The bathroom is another story! All of the appliances were broken and half of the time we weren't able to use them properly. The shower was especially bad since every shower we took meant that there will be a total flood, not only in the bathroom but also in the bedroom as well. Tiles were dirty and walls were black because of excess humidity and mold.
The only good thing about the hotel is the fact that it took us approximately 15 minutes to reach Piazza Duomo by train/metro.
When it comes to payment - their credit card machines happened to be out of order so we had to pay with cash.. this was again - shocking - as we avoid carrying big amounts of cash with us while on a trip, so we had to look for a bank/machine to get some cash.
All in all, if you want an adventure with friends where you absolutely don't care about your accommodation, this hotel is okay - but if you're travelling with family, looking for a cultural experience of the city along with proper and normal accommodation (as written on their web page!) than this hotel isn't for you and you should definitely avoid it! True, it was cheap, but all the unpleasant experiences we went through aren't worth the cheapness. We most certainly don't recommend this hotel because there are loads of others with better service scattered all around Milan - they might cost more, but trust me, a little extra money is worth it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    22
    8
    46
See reviews for
15
16
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane - Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

When I read the reviews on hostelbookers.com for this "hostel" it sounded ok but when I arrived the place is out of the way (a bus followed by a walk through a number of back streets), the shower leaves much to be desired. Although I'd booked a 6-bed dorm when I arrived the room was an tiny hotel room with a double bed and 2 single beds jammed in. Being the middle of summer when we requested if the (already installed) air-conditionning could be turned on, we were told that we needed to pay 10 euros per person extra to have it turned on.

The reception man was nice enough and somewhat helpful, there is free wifi downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
First of all we apologize to the customer for the bad experience you had with the old management, and I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in shoddy structures which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support for better this figure is 90% no greek hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

What a nightmare! It felt like we were in the movie TAKEN. We booked this hotel for the Milan Fair last year. We had booked 2 rooms for a 5 day stay. We arrived 10 am and the man at the reception table was like a teenager who had just gotten out of bed. He did not entertain us for a good 30 minutes and was just talking on the phone. Finally when he got our booking sheet he again made us wait for another 30 minutes because he couldn't find our reservation. After 1 hour he said he will take care of fixing it and we should just go and tour Milan and by the time we get back everything would be arranged.

We got back 10 pm after a full day of touring and we still did not have a room. He was not telling us what the problem was. He kept on saying that he will find us a room. By 12 am we were still at the reception area. He said they had over booked and that all hotels in Milan were full but they were going to find us one. He even said, "Well, at least when you get home you'll have a story to tell your friends." What?!!!

At 1 am a man who was half drunk came screeching into the drive way. They said they would split us up into 2 cars, girls on one car and boys in the other! Of course we did not agree. We decided 1 coupld in 1 car and another couple plus 1 girl in the other car. They did not tell us where they were taking us. On the road they were drag racing with each other and blastin loud music and talking to each other through the open windows when at a red light. The driver in one of the cars was groping his girl friend on the front seat and kissing her! We really felt like we were going to be shot and killed.

We finally arrived in this building that had broken windows and scaffolding. They had found us a room in some guys house! They just crammed 5 beds in a room with no lock. The shared bathrom had broken windows and tiles and was filthy!!!

It was 2 am at this point and we had no choice but to stay in this awful joke of a place. We were so afraid for our lives. The whole night sexual noises were coming from the room besie us! We just piled all our luggage against the door of our room so we could have some kind of protection.

The next day we were lucky enough to find an apartment to move into via internet. THIS IS THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!!!! The management of the hotel just left us for dead and did not care! I had booked this thru hotelbookers.com which is a very reputable site. At least hotelbookers was gracious enough to refund what we had paid.

This establishment should be closed down. Do not make the mistake of booking here.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I would never recommend this place to ANYONE
The staff member was completely rude and disappeared completely several times, he was smoking inside despite no smoking signs throughout the building.

There was no heating in our room and despite several attempts to get the smoking guys attention, the heating never came on. He did claim to have called the technician though.
We had a broken shower and no hot water, and although he did offer for us to shower in another guests room (.....) we decided not to take him up on this offer, prefering just to escape from the freezing room altogether

The hotel itself is very far from anywhere, and the streets around the area didn't feel very safe to walk around.

Made for a very disappointing trip and would never ever recommend to another living person

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

It is a hostel, when booking at places like this you get what you get and I do not complain when the price is so cheap.

It was very difficult to find but seem that everyone gets lost in Milan -- even the locals. I felt that my things were safe there and the staff was helpful, the best espresso I had while in Milan was at Greko.

The breakfast was of croissant and coffee, little toasts and jam, just fine for what I was expecting. The internet worked well and it was nice sitting out front in the shade while working on my computer. I met many great people there and will stay in touch with them in the future.

One thing that did bother me was when someone came into the hostel in the morning and started yelling at the employees the opened the door to my dormitory room and continued to yell at the staff. The language was not my native language so I am not sure as to what they were saying but by the time I got up all seemed alright.

My stay was what I expected.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Price are interessting but even too expensive for the value of this hotel
Not a good place, far from city center, with just a few public transportation...
The hotel was very noisy, some groups were drinking and screaming just in front of the hotel all the night.
The staff was awfull, one of them looks like Valderama and was quite frightening...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
First of all we apologize to the customer for the bad experience you had with the old management, and I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in shoddy structures which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support for better this figure is 90% no greek hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Not as described at all. Very very low quality for money, unsafe as well.
Avoid if you are with family.
Absolutely not as described.
No comments is the KEY to all answers.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greco Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Ugolini 21/3, 20125 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greco Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.