We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay at” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Grande

Save Saved
You added Ca' Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ca' Grande
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porpora 87, 20131 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 432 hotels in Milan
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasure to stay at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ca'Grande was a pleasure to come back to each day/evening. I felt very comfortable and at home in my simple, but tastefully decorated room: it had 3 paintings on the walls, each of quite different style but obviously selected with care. As one entered through my room door from the hall, one first stepped into a little foyer, with one door leading into the bathroom and the other into the room, which featured a very comfortable double bed. Thus, it felt a really self-contained unit. The hotel is located in a fabulously central area in the middle of Milan's vibrancy and has a little garden. A typically Italian breakfast is served each morning. All the staff were friendly. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, which I think is great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iole S, Proprietario at Ca' Grande, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Google Translation
Grazie tanto di essere stato nostro ospite. Vogliamo sempre migliorare il nostro servizio per avere sempre ospiti felici.....
Hotel ca' Grande staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
4
13
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is good , just a few hundred metres from the metro station. The room though was smelly like it was used by smokers and was supposed to be non smoking room. Breakfast was a joke , coffee and biscuits! Reasonable value at 35euros though , room was noisy as it is on the main road, but I had a early start the next day so no too much of a problem for me.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We used Ca' Grande as a base during the F1 Italian Grand Prix (as everywhere was crazy expensive!) and it was fine as a place to rest our heads. The owners were pleasant enough but the property is not well maintained. Our room was boiling hot and we were annoyed to find we had to pay an extra 10 Euros for air conditioning. The bathroom was clean-ish but we had towels the size of flannels which was quite amusing! Breakfast is served in a back room and the cereal was stale, but the coffee was good. It's a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel the lady was short in her comments, gave us the key and thats it. No information about the hotel (breakfast, internet password etc) or about Milano or which metro we could take.

The room is clean, we used the shared bathroom which is ok.

The website of the hotel states that they have airconditioning, but when we came in the room it turned out you have to pay 10 euro extra for this. With the summer heat not a pleasant surprise. We booked a room for 2 persons, but there was 1 towl. We asked for an other one at the reception, and we needed to pay 1,50 extra.

The day that we wanted to leave we have had our last breakfast. The man (husband/owner) was behind the bar to serve coffee etc. We asked for coffee and tea. He only served the coffe and walked away. When we found him somewhere in the privat part of the hotel and asked about the tea he reacted very defensive. At last we packed our car, we got a snatch from the man (husband/owner) when we pay the bill while my hands where full with my luggage. Like if we were running of without payment, really unpleasand. We did not feld welcome at all.

The facilities are fine and basis, ok for the price. But the staff needs a training about hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The room here was OK but that's it. We had to pay 10€ for air-conditioning, for that money we could have stayed at a much better place.

The service was nonchalante at best. When we asked where we could get some breakfast we got a shrug on the shoulders and the reply "At a bar." Gee, thanks.

I would advice you to find another place, this place is not worth your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Perks for this hotel included being able to leave our luggage while waiting for check in time, reliable free WiFi, and it was not very far from the metro. It is not very close to attractions but metro helps. Overall it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

SHARED TOILET & BATH - only 1 for each floor of around 6 or more rooms. Imagine how many people there could be per room and you have a competition. Although we already knew that it was going to be shared toilets, we did not expect that there was only 1 per floor!

NO HOT WATER - the best you can get is lukewarm, but nowhere near "hot."

AIRCONDITIONING- we thought it included airconditioning in our bill but we had to pay an extra 10€ per night.

TOWELS - additional 2€.

BREAKFAST- ok, can do.

NO LIFT

STAFF - ok, kind of cold and business-as-usual attitude. Not so friendly.

CLEANLINESS - ok. we saw the staff clean the rooms everyday.

LOCATION - it was a 15-min walk from the nearest Metro (Loreto).

PRICE - In a way, the cheap price (we paid 50€ / night + 10€ for aircon) justifies the place a little. I just wished the owners were friendlier, it would have made a lot of difference for the other things that they lacked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ca' Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Grande

Address: Via Porpora 87, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 432 hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ca' Grande 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Ca' Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Grande Milan
Ca Grande Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.