We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was adequate.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambrosiana to your Saves list
Ambrosiana
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Plinio 22, 20129 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Cheongju, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The place was adequate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We only needed a place to stay for one night. Our flight arrived late at night and our train departed Milan Central Station early in the morning.

It had Wifi, was clean and there was a shower and sink in the room.It was a big and spacious room.

There did seem to be some construction work going on outside, but I am not sure if or when it occurred, we left before 7 a.m.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
10
23
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've booked this hotel as it was the best price in that area. The room was very basic but with private WC and it was clean. Free Internet. Free breakfast - it's very simple, but it's normal for Milano hotels. The staff is very welcome and they really ready to help you with any issues you might have. The location is great - close to the main shopping area - Corso Buenos Aires. So, recommended for stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The entrance to this hostel is really poor at the moment. Entry is by way of a courtyard which is currently a building site, then the stairs up to the hostel on the first floor (no lift) are quite grotty.
Dragging my bad up the stairs in the muggy warmth of Milan was not good, but I got a very warm welcome. My single room was basic but very clean, comfortable bed with good sheets and towels are provided. My room had a shower and bidet with a shared toilet in the corridor.
Breakfast was basic but good and there is a lovely balcony to sit on outside.
Good cooking facilities also for budget travellers. I was only there one night so didn't use this facility.
The location is excellent being near the Lima Metro stop, lots of nice cafes around too.
I loved the city of Milan and did lots of walking and felt very safe in this area.
The hostel is under new management and there is still work going on so it may all look different in future.
I was very happy with my stay due to the location, the lovely staff and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here during a interrailing trip, and honstly, some of the hostels we stayed in were far better. I don't know if it was just because it was my birthday that it seemed so dreadful, but I think this is the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel.

We arrived at our booked hotel 'Hotel Bristol', which has excellent location to the main shopping road, and is relatively close to the train station, only to be told our booking hadn't been made with them. This was despite my travelling partner having emailed to double check our booking had been made, and them confirming everything was fine.

They moved us to Ambrosiana, which was well out of the way from where we wanted to be. We arrived and had to pay an extra 40 Euros (twice what we had even paid for the room in the first place!). The women then continued to tell us that there would be no breakfast included, like in our original booking. We left as quickly as possible to get out and enjoy all Milan had to offer, returning before 1am (the time she told us to be back by). The owner was very disgruntled having to open the door for us - late night porter? what a load of rubbish!

The hotel was still in the process of being done up, meaning that builders moved in at 6am, banging and drilling right next to our wall. I don't mind a bit of noise, but we left by 8am, fed up and hoping to sleep on the next train we caught.

All in all, the worst nights sleep of my life, can't believe how badly we were treated.

I am not a fussy guest, but I think even I could have provided a better service in my university dorm then Hotel Bristol/Ambrosia provided.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Ambrosiana was in a great location and staff was very friendly and very helpful. The room was spartan but clean and fine for our needs. The aperitivi at the bar just outside the hotel was great, as were the meat/cheese and bread shops. Breakfast was basic but good and the view from the tables on the terrace was nice. The bed was small and the pillows were crappy, but for 50 euro, really no big deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We planned to spend one night in Milan and initially had difficulty finding anywhere cheap and close to the city centre. Finally we happened upon the Hotel Ambrosiana, which offers inexpensive (by Milanese standards), basic accommodation in a quiet location close to the Central railway station (15 minutes' walk) and with easy access to trams, buses and the Metro.
The staff at Ambrosiano were very friendly and welcoming, and gave as advice on how to get around, and where to eat. The room was clean and warm, and the breakfast which was included in the price was good. The narrow stairs up to the second floor were difficult to negotiate with heavy suitcases, but this was the only thing we didn't like about the placed and we enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Some people have complained that the walls are thin and that this hotel is noisy, but we did not fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

It was very regular hotel, was surprised it was ranked #287 in SF.... staff was great but otherwise very average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosiana

Address: Via Plinio 22, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ambrosiana 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambrosiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosiana Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.